East Asian Studies

People

FACULTY:

This page lists our faculty members.  You will find information regarding other academics (adjuncts, lecturers, emeriti), administrative staff, graduate students and alumni on each of their corresponding pages.

Hiromi Aoki
(PhD, University of California, Los Angeles)

Faculty Lecturer, Japanese Language Coordinator
Discourse analysis, conversation analysis, multimodality in interaction, Japanese linguistics, and language pedagogy
Office: PB 3-38, (780) 492-1588
E-mail: haoki@ualberta.ca

Anne Commons
(PhD, Columbia University)

Associate Professor
Premodern Japanese poetry, poetics and literature, canonization, textual reception
Office: PB 3-36, (780) 492-9107
E-mail: acommons@ualberta.ca
Walter Davis
(PhD, The Ohio State University)

Associate Professor
Late-imperial Chinese painting, prints, and calligraphy; twentieth-century Chinese and Japanese art; modern Sino-Japanese artistic exchange.
Office:
FAB 3-91B, (780) 492-7875
E-mail:
wdavis1@ualberta.ca
Daniel Fried
(PhD, Harvard University)

Associate Professor
History of Chinese literary criticism, especially allegoresis and semiotics, as it compares with European traditions; intellectual history considered as sometimes-more-than-mere-epiphenomenon of social, economic, and cultural histories; Daoist textual traditions and influences; comparative methodologies and post-theoretical theory.
Office: PB 3-05
E-mail: dfried@ualberta.ca
Clara Iwasaki
(PhD, University of California, Los Angeles)
Assistant Professor
Literary and textual circulation, translation, Chinese literature as world literature, Sinophone literature, Sino-American literary connections
Office: PB 3-27
E-mail: ciwasaki@ualberta.ca
Kaori Kabata
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Associate Professor
I am interested in cognitive representations of polysemous words, especially grammatical morphemes, such as particles and auxiliaries, and their acquisition processes both in L1 and L2 contexts.
Office:
PB 3-22, (780) 492-1565
E-mail:
kkabata@ualberta.ca
Kyungsook Kim
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Faculty Lecturer, Korean Language Coordinator
Second language acquisition, Korean Linguistics, Language learning, Conversation analysis
Office:
PB 3-39, (780) 248-1370
E-mail:
kk5@ualberta.ca
Hyuk-chan Kwon
(PhD,University of British Columbia)

Assistant Professor
Premodern Korean narratives, especially sexuality and conflicts of identities in p’ansori narratives
Translation between Korean, Chinese, and English
Comparative research on Korean and Chinese literature
Premodern Chinese narratives, especially sexuality in the novels of late imperial China
Women’s authorship and readership of traditional Chinese narratives in Korea
Transformation of traditional East Asian narratives in contemporary interactive media
Analysis of Three Kingdoms- related cultural products and their dissemination in East Asia
Office:
PB 3-42
E-mail:
hyukchan@ualberta.ca

Xiaoting Li

(PhD,Peking University)

 

 

Assistant Professor,  Associate Chair - Undergraduate Studies
My main research interests are syntax, prosody and body movements and the organization of conversational interaction. I work on recordings of naturally occurring face-to-face interactions and explore different semiotic resources (e.g., syntax, prosody, and the body) and the structure of conversation. My research seeks to uncover the interactional function of linguistic structures and bodily movements to better understand language use in everyday interaction.

I also combine qualitative and statistical methods in the study of language use based on corpus of naturally-occurring spoken Mandarin discourse and the cross-linguistic study on Mandarin and English conversational interactions.
Office: PB 3-56
E-mail: xiaoting.li@ualberta.ca

Christopher Lupke
(PhD,Cornell University)

Professor and Chair
Modern Chinese literature, film, and cultural studies
Office:
PB 3-32A, 3-57, (780) 492-1131
E-mail:
lupke@ualberta.ca

Tsuyoshi Ono
(PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara)

Professor, Associate Chair - Graduate Studies  
usage-based linguistics, Japanese, and Miyako Ryukyuan
Office: PB 3-44
Email:tono@ualberta.ca    Lab:https://sites.google.com/a/ualberta.ca/sdrs/

David Quinter
(PhD, Stanford University)
Associate Professor
Buddhism; East Asian religions; premodern Japan; devotional cults and practices; outcasts (hinin), discrimination, and social welfare in Japanese religion.
Office:
PB 3-03
E-mail:
quinter@ualberta.ca
Kuo-Chan Sun
(PhD, University at Buffalo)
Faculty Lecturer, Chinese Language Coordinator
Language and Linguistics, Education.
Office:
PB 3-20
E-mail:
kuochan@ualberta.ca
Dagmar Wujastyk
(PhD, University of Bonn)
Associate Professor
Classical Indology, i.e., the study of ancient South Asian languages and cultures, specializing in the history and literature of classical Indian medicine (Ayurveda), iatrochemistry (rasaśāstra), and yoga.
Office:
PB 4-20
E-mail:
dwujasty@ualberta.ca
Emerti:

 

Lai Fong Leung
(PhD, University of British Columbia)
Professor Emeritus
E-mail:
leunglai@ualberta.ca
Jenn Shann Lin
(PhD, University of Alberta )
Professor Emeritus
Taiwan fiction; narrative strategies; translation; gender studies; syntax and semantics
E-mail:
jennlin@ualberta.ca

Contract Instructors:

Brad Ambury
(MA, University of British Columbia)
 bambury@ualberta.ca
Zheng Cai
(PhD, University of Alberta )
 zhengc@ualberta.ca
Hyechung Cho
 hyechung@ualberta.ca
Junko Davis  jkdavis@ualberta.ca
Mayumi Hoshi
 mhoshi@ualberta.ca
Jooyeon Kang
 jooyeon@ualberta.ca
Parmjit Kang
 parmjitk@ualberta.ca
Byung Geuk Kim
 bkim@ualberta.ca
Urara Kobayashi
 urara@ualberta.ca
Jin Mi Kwon
 jinmi@ualberta.ca
Hwa Ja Park  hwaja@ualberta.ca
Yumi Sieben  ysasaki@ualberta.ca
Qian Tang  qian.tang@ualberta.ca
Danqing Wang  danqing1@ualberta.ca

Administrative Staff:

Joanne McKinnon
Assistant Chair

Office: ASH 2-30, (780) 492-0130
E-mail:
jmckinno@ualberta.ca

Elizabeth French
Research Administrator

Office: ASH 4-32A, (780) 492-4190
E-mail:
efrench@ualberta.ca

Gail Mathews
Graduate Advisor

Office: ASH 2-29, (780) 492-2368
E-mail:
gail.mathew@ualberta.ca

Heather McDonald
Undergraduate Advisor

Office: PB 3-37, (780) 492-2836
E-mail:
heather.mcdonald@ualberta.ca

Leila Bailey
Executive Assistant

Office: PB 3-31, (780) 492-3038
E-mail:
leila.bailey@ualberta.ca