Electrical and Computer Engineering

Provincial Awards

Alberta Ingenuity New Faculty Awards

Alberta Ingenuity New Faculty Awards provide an excellent start to outstanding new faculty members in Alberta. Providing significant funding as they set-up their first research laboratory guarantees that these researchers will have an impact on Alberta's academic landscape.

  • H. Jiang, , 2008
  • S. Vorobyov, 2007
  • M. Ardakani, 2006
  • D. Joseph, 2005

Alberta Science and Technology (ASTech) Awards

The Alberta Science and Technology (ASTech) Leadership Foundation was created to celebrate and promote the achievements of Alberta’s scientific and technological communities. ASTech sponsors several awards.

ASTech Award for Outstanding leadership in Alberta Technology

This award is presented to an individual or team of individuals who have played a leadership role in and made a contribution to a technological innovation or breakthrough in Alberta.

  • Mike Brett, 2003
  • W. Grover, 1999

ASTech Innovation in Information and Communications Technology Award

This award is presented to an individual, team or organization that has demonstrated leadership and innovation resulting in the successful development and/or commercialization of a novel product or application of Information, Communications Technology (ICT), and that has had a significant impact in enabling applications in a sector.

  • J. Tulip, 1991

Association of Professional Engineers and Geologists of Alberta (APEGGA) Summit Awards

The Summit Awards Gala is APEGGA’s major annual event, held in conjunction with the Annual General Meeting. This event recognizes leadership and excellence in the practices of engineering, geology and geophysics, and the contributions APEGGA Members make to the community.

Project Achievement Award

The winning project should demonstrate engineering, geological or geophysical skills and represent a substantial contribution to technological progress and the betterment of society. The Association will give credit to those firms and/or persons who have assumed key roles in bringing the project to completion

  • C.J. Backhouse, 2008

Research Excellence Award

This award recognizes professionals in academia or industry who have conducted innovative research in Engineering, Geology or Geophysics, and that research has been successfully applied to improve our economic and social well being.

  • W. Grover, 2008

Excellence in Education Award

Awarded to members of APEGGA who have made exemplary contributions to teaching and learning at a recognized post-secondary teaching establishment in Alberta

  • M. Brett, 2004