Electrical and Computer Engineering

Faculty & Staff

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is home to over 60 academic and 30 support and technical staff, all focused on providing world-class education and furthering cutting-edge research.

Our staff is diverse, vibrant, and passionate about engineering. This is partially exemplified through the teaching and research awards they've received, but is better illustrated by the success of our graduates and the experiences they gain while at the University of Alberta.

The ECE work environment encourages creativity, team work, and dedication.

  • Administrative Support Staff

    Main Contact

    Electrical & Computer Engineering
    11-203 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering 
    9107 - 116 Street NW
    University of Alberta
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 1H9
    Phone: (780) 492-3332
    Fax: (780) 492-1811

    Pinder Bains, Graduate Student Advisor
    (780) 492-0161
    Donadeo ICE 11-229
    Email

    Wendy Barton, Manager, Instructional Support Services
    (780) 248-1568
    Donadeo ICE 11-247
    Email

    Theresa Calverley, Admin Assistant (Dr. Fair)
    (780) 492-3333
    Donadeo ICE 11-221
    Email

    Terra Garneau, Research Coordinator
    (780) 492-9062
    Donadeo ICE 11-351
    Email

    Courtney Gullason, Administrative Coordinator to Dr. Wilsun Xu
    Donadeo ICE 11-389
    Email

    Melissa Hawrelechko, Admin Assistant (NanoFab)
    (780) 492-0167
    ECERF W1-051
    Email

    Erin Lee, Marketing & Events Coordinator
    (780) 492-0026
    Donadeo ICE 11-203
    Email

    Nona McDonagh, Graduate Applications Coordinator
    (780) 492-4662
    Donadeo ICE 11-395
    Email 

    Amy Ouyang, Graduate Program Assistant
    Donadeo ICE 11-227
    Email

    Aya Qutub, Marketing & Events Coordinator
    Donadeo ICE 11-387
    Email

    Asha Rao, Assistant Chair (Administration)
    (780) 492-1487
    Donadeo ICE 11-226
    Email

  • Technical Support Staff

    Main Contact

    Electrical & Computer Engineering
    11-203 Donadeo Innovaction Centre for Engineering 
    9107 - 116 Street NW
    University of Alberta
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 1H9
    Phone: (780) 492-3332
    Fax: (780) 492-1811

    Raza Bhatti, Instructional Computer Technician
    ETLC E4-006
    Email

    Stephanie Bozic, NanoFab Technician
    (587) 879-1515
    ECERF W1-053
    Email

    Bob Brebber, NanoFab Technician
    (587) 879-1514
    ECERF W1-028
    Email

    Francois Brochu, IT Team Leader/Systems Analyst
    (780) 492-2010
    ECERF W6-017
    Email

    Herbert Dexel, Machine Shop Supervisor
    (780) 492-3823
    ECERF W1-033A
    Email

    Steve Drake, Electronics Technician
    (780) 217-2707
    ETLC E4-006
    Email

    Glenn Elaschuk, Nanofab Technician
    (587) 879-1518
    ECERF W1-051
    Email

    Wing Hoy, Electronics Technician
    (780) 807-7498
    ETLC E4-006
    Email

    Michael Hume, Operations Manager (NanoFab)
    (780) 953-5081
    ECERF W1-028
    Email

    Terry Kugler, Machinist
    (780) 492-3823
    ECERF W1-033
    Email

    Scott Landsborough, Systems and Network Analyst
    (780) 721-2520
    ETLC E4-006
    Email

    Alan Lim, Electronics Technician
    (780) 918-7227
    ETLC E4-006
    Email

    Zhigang Liu (Leo), IT Tier 1 Support
    ECERF W6-017
    Email

    Rick McGregor, Electronics Stores Technician
    (780) 492-2075
    ETLC E3-012
    Email

    Nancy Minderman, Programmer Analyst & Lab Coordinator
    (780) 492-7309
    ETLC E3-012
    Email

    Scott Munro, Specialist Technician
    (587) 789-1517
    ECERF W1-028
    Email

    Les Schowalter, Specialist Technician
    (587) 789-1516
    ECERF W1-028
    Email

    Reiner Schwarze, Machinist
    (780) 492-3823
    ECERF W1-033
    Email

    Albert Terheide, Electronics Technician
    (780) 504-2617
    ETLC E4-006B (Technician Office)
    Email

    Edward Tiong, Electronics Technician
    (780) 722-6776
    ETLC E4-006
    Email

Filter by name
Area:

Name and Title

Department(s)

Area(s)

Contact

Ardakani, Masoud
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Communications 780-492-2567
ardakani@ualberta.ca
Barlage, Douglas
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Solid State Electronics, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-4081
barlage@ualberta.ca
Chen, Jie
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Biomedical Engineering, Integrated Circuits And Systems, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-9820
jc65@ualberta.ca
Chen, Tongwen
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Control Systems 780-492-3940
tongwen.chen@ualberta.ca
Cockburn, Bruce
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Communications, Computer Engineering, Integrated Circuits And Systems 780-492-3827
cockburn@ualberta.ca
Daneshmand, Mojgan
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Communications, Electromagnetics And Microwaves, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-7351
daneshma@ualberta.ca
DeCorby, Ray
Associate Chair Research & Planning, Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-5585
rdecorby@ualberta.ca
Dew, Steven
Provost & VP Academic
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-3443
steven.dew@ualberta.ca
Dick, Scott
Professor, Director of Computer Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-6216
scott.dick@ualberta.ca
Dinavahi, Venkata
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Energy Systems 780-492-1003
dinavahi@ualberta.ca
Elezzabi, Abdulhakem
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Electromagnetics And Microwaves, Photonics And Plasmas 780-492-2363
elezzabi@ualberta.ca
Elliott, Duncan
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-5357
duncan.elliott@ualberta.ca
Evoy, Stephane
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-6192
sevoy@ualberta.ca
Fair, Ivan
Professor and Chair
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-3333
ivan.fair@ualberta.ca
Fedosejevs, Robert
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Electromagnetics And Microwaves, Photonics And Plasmas 780-492-5330
rfed@ualberta.ca
Gupta, Manisha
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-248-5637
mgupta1@ualberta.ca
Han, Jie
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Computer Engineering, Integrated Circuits And Systems, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-1361
jie.han@ualberta.ca
Hossain, Masum
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-6936
masum@ualberta.ca
Iyer, Ashwin
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Electromagnetics And Microwaves 780-248-1921
ashwin1@ualberta.ca
Jiang, Hai
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-7702
hai1@ualberta.ca
Jing, Yindi
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-9286
yindi@ualberta.ca
Joseph, Dileepan
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-9164
dil.joseph@ualberta.ca
Karumudi, Rambabu
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-6983
rambabu@ualberta.ca
Khabbazian, Majid
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-248-1852
mkhabbazian@ualberta.ca
Khajehoddin, S. Ali
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-3449
khajeddin@ualberta.ca
Khazaei, Hamzeh
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Software Engineering And Intelligent Systems 780-492-8166
hamzeh.khazaei@ualberta.ca
Kish, Gregory
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Energy Systems 780-492-7086
gkish@ualberta.ca
Krzymien, Witold
Rohit Sharma Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Communications 780-492-5780
krzymien@ualberta.ca
Li, Yunwei (Ryan)
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-9483
yunwei.li@ualberta.ca
Liang, Hao
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-248-1887
hao2@ualberta.ca
Lou, Edmond
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-9254
elou@ualberta.ca
Lynch, Alan
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Control Systems 780-492-5147
alan.lynch@ualberta.ca
Mandal, Mrinal
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Biomedical Engineering, Communications, Computer Engineering, Signal And Image Processing 780-492-0294
mmandal@ualberta.ca
Marquez, Horacio
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Control Systems 780-492-3334
hmarquez@ualberta.ca
Miller, James
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-5580
james.miller@ualberta.ca
Moez, Kambiz
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-1711
kambiz.moez@ualberta.ca
Mohamed, Yasser Abdel-Rady I.
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Energy Systems 780-492-7287
yasser2@ualberta.ca
Musilek, Petr
Associate Chair Undergraduate Studies, Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Computer Engineering 780-492-5368
petr.musilek@ualberta.ca
Myatt, Jason
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-9151
myatt@ualberta.ca
Niu, Di
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-1194
dniu@ualberta.ca
Pedrycz, Witold
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Software Engineering And Intelligent Systems 780-492-4661
wpedrycz@ualberta.ca
Pirooz Azad, Sahar
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
spazad@ualberta.ca
Pramanik, Sandipan
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Solid State Electronics, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-9210
spramani@ualberta.ca
Reformat, Marek
Associate Chair Graduate Studies, Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Software Engineering And Intelligent Systems 780-492-2848
marek.reformat@ualberta.ca
Salmon, John
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Energy Systems 780-492-2097
john.salmon@ualberta.ca
Shankar, Karthik
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Solid State Electronics, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-1354
kshankar@ualberta.ca
Sit, Jeremy
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-3937
jsit@ualberta.ca
Tavakoli, Mahdi
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Biomedical Engineering, Control Systems 780-492-8935
mahdi.tavakoli@ualberta.ca
Tellambura, Chintha
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Communications 780-492-7228
ct4@ualberta.ca
Tsui, Ying
Associate Dean
Electrical and Computer Engineering Electromagnetics And Microwaves, Photonics And Plasmas, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-3192
ytsui@ualberta.ca
Vaidyanathan, Mani
Professor, Director of Engineering Physics
Electrical and Computer Engineering Solid State Electronics, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-6910
maniv@ualberta.ca
Van, Vien
Professor, Director of Electrical Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering Biomedical Engineering, Electromagnetics And Microwaves, Photonics And Plasmas, Solid State Electronics, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-9848
vien@ualberta.ca
Wang, Xihua
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Photonics And Plasmas, Solid State Electronics, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-3523
xihua@ualberta.ca
Wyard-Scott, Loren
Faculty Services Officer
Electrical and Computer Engineering 780-492-5833
lorenw@ualberta.ca
Xu, Wilsun
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Energy Systems 780-492-5965
wxu@ualberta.ca
Zemp, Roger
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Biomedical Engineering, Photonics And Plasmas, Signal And Image Processing, Microsystems And Nanodevices 780-492-1825
rzemp@ualberta.ca
Zhao, Qing
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Control Systems 780-492-5792
qingz@ualberta.ca