Meet the Faculty of Engineering's newest Canada Research Chairs

Eight engineering faculty members are appointed as new CRC chairholders

Kristy Burke - 4 May 2018

(Edmonton) On May 3rd, 2018, the Government of Canada announced the most recent Canada Research Chairs, and of the eleven from the University of Alberta, eight are from the Faculty of Engineering.

The goal of the Canada Research Chair Program is to move Canada forward as a global leader in research and development. Work supported by the program leads to knowledge and solutions that improve our quality of life, positions Canada as an international competitor, and helps to educate and train our next generation of scientists and engineers.

The eight Faculty of Engineering chairholders announced are as follows:

Christopher Dennison, Chair in Biomedical Instrumentation

Warren Finlay, Chair in Aerosol Mechanics

Clayton Deutsch, Chair in Uncertainty Management

Yang Lui, Chair in Future Water Services

Aminah Robinson Fayek, Chair in Fuzzy Hybrid Decision Support Systems for Construction

Tongwen Chen, Chair in Intelligent Monitoring and Control

Hao Liang, Chair in Intelligent Energy Systems

Zhijun (Tony) Qiu, Chair in Cooperative Transportation Systems

A complete list of all recently appointed University of Alberta chairholders is published on The Quad.