2019 Cécile E. Mactaggart Travel Award for Narrative Writing

Both awards, this year's teaching staff award, and this year's student award went to members of the English & Film Studies department.

22 April 2020

Established in 1999 by Dr. Cécile Mactaggart, this award is given annually, with recipients receiving up to $12,000 to fund travel that will provide a stimulating educational and cultural experience.

Teaching Staff Winner Ahsan Chowdhury
This year's teaching staff winner is Ahsan Chowdhury, from English and Film Studies. Ahsan's story is entitled A Watery Pilgrimage: An Essay, which you can read here.


Student Winner Matthew Weigel
This year's student winner is Matthew Weigel, from English and Film Studies. Matthew's story is entitled A Journey Printed on Parchment, which you can read here.






Congratulations Ahsan and Matthew!