Lasers and Xray equipment

Working with Class 3B and 4 lasers? Read on!

Which lasers require registration?

All Class 3B and Class 4 lasers must be registered with Environment, Health & Safety. 

The laser class is typically indicated on the device or in the manufacturer's information that is included with the device.

Note that the following equipment may also contain or be classified as Class 3B or 4 lasers:

  • confocal microscopes
  • raman spectrometers
  • laser imaging systems
  • medical/therapeutic lasers

Class 1, 1M, 2, 2M, and 3R lasers do not require registration. Examples of class 1 lasers are grocery store scanners, while Class 2 lasers include laser pointers. 

To learn more about laser classification, consult the Laser Safety Manual. 

How can I register my laser?

Register your equipment with this application, then submit it to Already registered your equipment but need to renew it? Use our new renewal form. 

X-ray equipment

All X-ray equipment must be registered with Environment, Health & Safety. Register your equipment with this application, then submit it to Use this renewal form to re-register.