UAlberta Innovation Awards and Workshops

May 17, 2022 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Share Event

Celebrate University of Alberta researchers and innovators and learn more about commercialization on campus through a series of virtual events during the morning. 

Event Itinerary

8:00 a.m. Opening Remarks from President Flanagan
8:05 a.m. Presentation on U of A’s Innovation Ecosystem with Deborah James, AVP (Innovation)
8:15 a.m. Keynote Presentation with Michael Wilson (OMx/Drugbank)

8:30 a.m. Innovating at the U of A: Challenges and Successes Panel

Moderator: Zach Storms (StartUp TNT)
Panel Members:
- Jana Rieger (True Angle)
- Jason Acker (PanTHERA)
- Chris Micetich (imYEG)
- Kristina Williams (Alberta Enterprise)
- Michael Wilson (OMx/Drugbank)


9:00 a.m. Commercialization at the U of A with the Technology Transfer Services team
9:30 a.m. Building industry partnerships with Simaan AbouRizk
10:00 a.m. Pitch Coaching with Jason Ding
10:30 a.m. Spinoff Business Fundamentals with Vanessa Grant (Norton Rose)


11:00 a.m. Spinoff and Patent Awards
11:40 a.m. eHUB and ICE Program student awards 

11:50 a.m. Closing Remarks

Graduate students may receive three hours of PD credits from FGSR by participating in the learning opportunities from 8-11 a.m. Request your PD credits on this Google Form.

All sessions will be hosted on a single Zoom Webinar link, allowing participants to attend sessions according to their interest and availability. Register on Zoom to attend: 


Community, Public
Faculty, Staff
Graduate Students
Ceremonies, Special Events Presentations Training, Development
Research Innovation Awards