Faculty and Staff

Statutory Holidays and Winter Closure

Effective January 1, 2019, changes to the Employment Standards Code (ESC) will apply to all employees under the NASA collective agreement.The ESC will supersede the NASA collective agreement in areas where the agreement falls below the minimum employment standards. In all other circumstances, the existing collective agreement will prevail until a new agreement is negotiated. For a summary of the new changes and updates to the existing employment standards visit Employment Standards Act - Updates.

New Year's Day, Alberta Family Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, Heritage Day (Civic Holiday), Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, Remembrance Day, and Christmas Day will be paid holidays. Over Winter Closure employees will normally be entitled to four days off during the regular work week period, December 26 to December 31 inclusive.

Following are upcoming paid holidays:

Statutory Holiday


New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Family Day Monday, February 18, 2019
Good Friday Friday, April 19, 2019
Easter Monday Monday, April 22, 2019
Victoria Day Monday, May 20, 2019
Canada Day Monday, July 1, 2019
Heritage Day (Civic) Monday, August 5, 2019
Labour Day Monday, September 2, 2019
Thanksgiving Monday, October 14, 2019
Remembrance Day Monday, November 11, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Winter Closure Thursday, December 26, 2019
Winter Closure Friday, December 27, 2019
Winter Closure Monday, December 30, 2019
Winter Closure Tuesday, December 31, 2019
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020