Statutory Holidays and Winter Closure

Effective January 1, 2019, changes to the Employment Standards Code (ESC) will apply to all employees under the NASA collective agreement.The ESC will supersede the NASA collective agreement in areas where the agreement falls below the minimum employment standards. In all other circumstances, the existing collective agreement will prevail until a new agreement is negotiated. For a summary of the new changes and updates to the existing employment standards visit Employment Standards Act - Updates.

New Year's Day, Alberta Family Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, Heritage Day (Civic Holiday), Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, Remembrance Day, and Christmas Day will be paid holidays. Over Winter Closure employees will normally be entitled to four days off during the regular work week period, December 26 to December 31 inclusive.

Following are upcoming paid holidays:



Family Day Monday, February 17, 2020
Good Friday Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Monday Monday, April 13, 2020
Victoria Day Monday, May 18, 2020
Canada Day Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Heritage Day (Civic) Monday, August 3, 2020
Labour Day Monday, September 7, 2020
Thanksgiving  Monday, October 12, 2020
Remembrance Day Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2020
Winter Closure From Monday, December 28 to Thursday, December 31, 2020
New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2021