Scholarships and Awards

Canada Graduate Scholarships - Master's (CGS-M) Competition

The Canada Graduate Scholarships – Master’s Program (CGS-M) has a single, harmonized application process for the three federal granting agencies: the Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), the Social Sciences & Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). These three agencies are also referred to as the “Tri-Agency”.

The CGS-M selection process and post-award administration are carried out at the institutional level, under the guidance of the three agencies. Eligible Canadian institutions receive a CGS-M allocation indicating the number of students to whom they can offer scholarships; these allocations are divided by broad fields of study: health, natural sciences and/or engineering, and social sciences and/or humanities.

Click on '+' to expand information.

  • Value
    The CGS-M is valued at $17,500* for 12 months. It is not renewable.

    *Note that all CGS-M winners will also receive additional top-up funding through the Walter H Johns Graduate Fellowship. Please see the bottom of the page for this information.
  • Eligibility

    Eligibility requirements:

    • Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident
    • Must be in a graduate program with a significant research component
    • Must have completed no more than 12 months of full-time studies in the graduate program as of December 31, 2017
    • Must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher in each of the last two years of study
    • Must not have received any other Tri-Agency funding for a master's program

    For complete eligibility please consult the CGS-M website.

    Please contact if you require clarification regarding your eligibility. Note: Awards Services will not pre-calculate GPAs to confirm eligibility.

  • Application Procedures

    Students apply online through the Research Portal, which is the Tri-Agency’s electronic system for creating, managing and submitting applications for funding.

    The deadline for students to submit their applications on the Research Portal is December 1, 2017.

    If not yet admitted to a graduate program, you must also apply for admission no later than March 1, 2018 in order to be considered for the CGSM at the University of Alberta

    Departments, please see the detailed memo in Nomination Procedures on this page.

    A complete application must include the following materials:
    • An outline of proposed research (One page MAXIMUM. One page MAXIMUM for citations. Do not exceed one page for your research proposal)
    • CV (to be completed on the Canadian Common CV online system)
    • Two letters of reference (to be uploaded online by referees before December 1st)
    Official, up-to-date transcripts from all post-secondary institutions attended (scanned and uploaded) - this includes (but is not limited to): all foreign transcripts; all transfer credit transcripts (even if they were transferred to this university); OFFICIAL University of Alberta transcripts for all study here; all transcripts of incomplete work/non-degree study/qualifying years, etc. Do NOT include unofficial or self-produced transcripts or marksheets (unless cleared in writing from FGSR).

    Applicants are expected to carefully read and follow the Instructions for Completing an Application.

    After complete applications have been submitted online by the deadline to the Research Portal, they cannot be adjusted.

  • Nomination Procedures
    Please view the CGS-M Memo.
  • Adjudication Procedures

    Applications will be reviewed in three stages: first by the FGSR for eligibility and completeness; then by departments for preliminary evaluation and ranking; and finally by the Graduate Scholarship Committee for selection of winners. Any change of status, including the official notice for winners will come via the Research Portal.

    Winners will receive notification on April 1, which is the earliest date on which institutions are permitted to offer the award. Winners may receive offers from multiple institutions, but may only accept at one of them.

  • Deadlines
    Online application and online CCV must be complete and submitted on or before December 1, 2017, before 8:00 PM (Eastern Time).
  • Additional Information
    Each university has a set allocation for each granting agency. The allocation is the total number of scholarships that the university is allowed to offer in the annual competition. The University of Alberta’s 2017 allocations are as follows:
    • NSERC: 50
    • SSHRC: 48
    • CIHR: 19
    Students who hold a CGS-M may want to consider applying for the Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplement.

Walter H Johns Graduate Fellowship

The Walter H Johns Graduate Fellowship is a Top-Up award given to students registered full-time in a graduate degree program who hold a Canada Graduate Scholarship - Master’s (CGS-M).

Click on '+' to expand information.

  • Value
    The value of the Fellowship varies from year to year and is at least the equivalent of tuition and fees for an academic year of graduate study (9 credits in each of Fall and Winter terms and 6 credits in each of Spring and Summer terms). In 2018-19, the Fellowship is valued at $5,800.
  • Application Procedures
    Students who hold a CGS-M will automatically be awarded the Walter H Johns Graduate Fellowship. There is no application form. The WHJ does not need to be accepted, it will be applied when the CGS-M award is properly accepted and activated at UAlberta.