Scholarships and Awards

Department Specific Awards

The Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research (FGSR) administers more than 2,000 awards, valued in millions of dollars, for students registered in departments at the University of Alberta.

View graduate funding opportunities in the searchable database below.

To be considered for these awards, students must be admitted to a graduate degree program or have completed an application for admission.

All award numbers and values are projections, and are subject to change at any time. Please contact FGSR Award Services for clarification and more details, if required at

Notes on the Database

The award information below is for the 2019-2020 fiscal year.

The deadlines indicated are the deadline for departments to submit nominations to FGSR, where applicable.


Award Name

Nomination Deadline

Eligibility Criteria

AAEA Master's Scholarship 1-Oct Awarded annually to a full-time or part-time master's student in Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology who has completed a minimum of 12 credits of course work and who is majoring in agricultural economics, agri-food business management, or natural resources economics. Awarded on the basis of superior academic achievement (a grade point average of 3.5 or greater in the most recent academic year - 12 credits minimum), and demonstration of commitment, leadership, contribution, and initiative at the University, in the community, and in the agri-food industry. Preference will be given to students who graduated from an Alberta high school.
*Aberdeen Graduate Award in Geology 1-Jun Awarded to a student with satisfactory academic standing registered full-time in a graduate degree in Earth & Atmospheric Sciences. Preference given to students in a Master degree and/or on a study permit. Selection based on academic achievement and demonstrated passion and interest in geology.
AD O'Brien Graduate Scholarship in Public Finance 1-Oct Awarded annually to a full-time student in a graduate degree program in the Department of Economics whose specialization is in Public Finance.
Aida Barbara Biamonte Graduate Scholarship in History 1-Jun Awarded to students with superior academic achievement registered in a graduate degree program in History in the Department of History and Classics. Selection based on academic standing.
*AIMCo Doctoral Award in Business Awarded annually to two students specializing in finance who are registered full-time in year one to year five of a doctoral program at the Alberta School of Business and to two students specializing in finance who are registered full-time in year one to year five of a doctoral program at the Haskayne School of Business in Calgary. The recipients will be selected on the basis of satisfactory academic merit.