Scholarships and Awards

CAGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award

The CAGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards recognize Canadian doctoral dissertations that make unusually significant and original contributions to their academic field. They were established in 1994 and are presented annually.

There are two awards:

  • One for engineering, medical sciences and the natural sciences; and
  • One for the fine arts, humanities and social sciences.

The Awards are granted by the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies (CAGS) and are sponsored by ProQuest

Click on '+' to expand information.

  • Value
    $1,500 prize, a Citation Certificate, and travel expenses of up to $1,500 to attend the annual CAGS conference.
  • Eligibility
    The following dissertations are eligible:
    a) A dissertation in any discipline in engineering, medical sciences and natural sciences completed and accepted by the FGSR between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018.
    b) A dissertation in any discipline in the fine arts, humanities, and social sciences completed and accepted by the FGSR between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018.
    In interdisciplinary domains or in fields that overlap the two broad areas in which the prizes are given, the dean of FGSR must decide for which prize it is appropriate to submit the dissertation.
  • Application Procedures
    There is no application form; eligible students will be considered automatically by their home department and nominated to the FGSR for final selection.
  • Nomination Procedures

    For Graduate Departments:

    A memo with detailed instructions for departments can be found here.

  • Adjudication Procedures
    The FGSR Graduate Scholarship Committee adjudicates the competition and forwards one nomination for each award to the CAGS National Office by the applicable deadline. Successful nominees will be notified directly by CAGS.
  • Deadline
    Deadline for Departments to submit one nomination is Friday, March 1, 2019.