Meet Frances Pownall

Meet Dr. Frances Pownall!

28 September 2020

Hello, my name is Frances Pownall. I have been teaching at the U of A since 1993, after completing my PhD in Classics from the University of Toronto, which makes me one of the longest-serving members of the Department (and also makes me feel a little old!). I teach all levels of Greek (and occasionally Latin) as well as a wide variety of courses on ancient history, literature, and civilization. If anyone is looking for a fun course for the winter term, I will be teaching a seminar course on Cleopatra VII, in which we will attempt to peel away the centuries of myth and legend enveloping this larger-than-life figure.