Statutory Holidays and Winter Closure

Effective January 1, 2019, changes to the Employment Standards Code (ESC) will apply to all employees under the NASA collective agreement.The ESC will supersede the NASA collective agreement in areas where the agreement falls below the minimum employment standards. In all other circumstances, the existing collective agreement will prevail until a new agreement is negotiated. For a summary of the new changes and updates to the existing employment standards visit Employment Standards Act - Updates.

New Year's Day, Alberta Family Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, Heritage Day (Civic Holiday), Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, Remembrance Day, and Christmas Day will be paid holidays. Over Winter Closure employees will normally be entitled to four days off during the regular work week period, December 26 to December 31 inclusive.

Upcoming Paid Holidays

*As the New Year's Day paid holiday fall on a Saturday, it will be recognized on Monday, January 3, 2022 in lieu.

**As the Christmas Day paid holiday fall on a Saturday, it will be recognized on Monday, December 27, 2021 in lieu.



New Year's Day Saturday, January 1, 2022*
Winter Closure From Monday, December 27, 2021 to Monday, January 3, 2022
Christmas Day Saturday, December 25, 2021**
Remembrance Day Thursday, November 11, 2021
Thanksgiving  Monday, October 11, 2021
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation Thursday, September 30, 2021
Labour Day Monday, September 6, 2021
Heritage Day (Civic) Monday, August 2, 2021
Canada Day Thursday July 1, 2021
Victoria Day Monday, May 24, 2021
Easter Monday Monday, April 5, 2021
Good Friday Friday, April 2, 2021
Alberta Family Day Monday, February 15, 2021
New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2021
Winter Closure From Monday, December 28 to Thursday, December 31, 2020
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2020
Remembrance Day Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Thanksgiving  Monday, October 12, 2020
Labour Day Monday, September 7, 2020
Heritage Day (Civic) Monday, August 3, 2020
Canada Day Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Victoria Day Monday, May 18, 2020
Easter Monday Monday, April 13, 2020
Good Friday Friday, April 10, 2020
Alberta Family Day Monday, February 17, 2020
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Subscribe to the Pay, Time Off and Holidays Calendar