Building a Safety Culture: Lunch & Learn Series

The U of A has a framework, or "management system" of health, safety, and environmental policy and procedures... now what? Join us for this lunch and learn series to learn how to apply system principles and start building a culture of safety in your workplace.

Each session will include the following:

  1. An introduction to a new element of the HSEMS
  2. A review of related incidents at the U of A and lessons learned
  3. Resources and actions for putting principles into practice 

Supervisors and other safety leaders are encouraged to attend. 


Presentations and recordings will be available post-session here

Thursday, February 24: HSE Policy Primer

Speaker: Philip Stack, Director, Health, Safety and Environment

Session resources:

Thursday, March 24: Program Management & Leadership
Speaker: Andrew Cooper - Manager, Regulatory & Consulting Services, HSE
Thursday, April 28: Hazard Management
Speaker: Greg Hodgson - Occupational Hygienist, HSE
Thursday, May 26: Training & Competency
Speaker: TBD
Thursday, June 23: Inspections & Maintenance
Speaker: TBD
Thursday, July 28: Incident Management
Speaker: TBD
Thursday, August 25: Emergency Preparedness
Speaker: TBD
Thursday, September 22: Contractor Management
Speaker: TBD
Thursday, October 27: Environmental Management
Speaker: Lois Dvorsky - Manager, Environment & Support Services
Thursday, November 24: Program Evaluation
Speaker: TBD
Thursday, December 15: Program Promotion
Speaker: TBD

Register to attend