Health, Safety, and Environment Committees

The University of Alberta has the following committees in place to advance health, safety, and environment best practices across the institution and to meet requirements set forth in OHS legislation:

Faculty/Portfolio HSE Committees

Are you interested in joining or contacting your committee? Contact your committee chair (or alternate) from the list below. Don't see your committee below? Email hse.info@ualberta.ca.

ALES

Co-Chair: Urmila Basu ubasu@ualberta.ca

Co-Chair: Jay Willis jay.willis@ualberta.ca

Arts

Chair: John Raymond johnr@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Victoria Pham vpham2@ualberta.ca

Augustana

Chair: James Smith jbsmith1@ualberta.ca

Alternate: David King dck@ualberta.ca

Botanic Garden
Chair: Carl Charest charest@ualberta.ca
Business

Chair: Nadine Badry nbadry@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Leona McLean leona.mclean@ualberta.ca

Campus Recreation/Athletics/Steadward Centre

Chair: Cheryl Harwardt charward@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Brian Gratrix brian.gratrix@ualberta.ca

Campus St-Jean

Chair: Patriciane Nankoua Ngueyep nankoua@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Christian Tremblay cjt2@ualberta.ca

Dean of Students

Chair: Kevin Friese friese@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Helen Vallianatos hv@ualberta.ca

Education

Chair: Laura Boisvert laura.boisvert@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Vanessa Grabia vogilvy@ualberta.ca

Engineering

Chair: Gord Winkel gord.winkel@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Syed Biyabani biyabani@ualberta.ca

Extension

Chair: Bryan Braul bbraul@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Michael Splinter michael.splinter@ualberta.ca

External Relations
Chair: Yvonne Regnier yvonne.regnier@ualberta.ca
Facilities and Operations
Chair: Lara McClelland lcmcclel@ualberta.ca
KSR

Chair: TBD

Law

Co-Chair: Julie McClelland lawaward@ualberta.ca

Co-Chair: Gloria Strathern lawaward@ualberta.ca

Library and Learning Services

Chair: Tim Klassen twklasse@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Darryl Hopkins darryl.hopkins@ualberta.ca

Medicine & Dentistry

Chair: Bernadette Quemerais bernadette.quemerais@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Wendy Magee wmagee@ualberta.ca

Nanofab
Chair: Michael Hume michael.hume@ualberta.ca
Native Studies
Chair: Adam Gaudrey gaudrey@ualberta.ca
Nursing
Chair: Dawn MacRitchie dawn.macritchie@ualberta.ca
Pharmacy

Chair: Christine Hughes cah1@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Michelle Maccagno mm29@ualberta.ca

Rehabilitation Medicine

Chair: Priya Swamy pswamy@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Deborah Palmer dallen@ualberta.ca

Science

Chair: Katie Nichols hogberg@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Bill Bedard wbedard@ualberta.ca

University Services & Finance

Chair: Michelle Rooker mrooker@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Phil Webb phil.webb@ualberta.ca