Interdisciplinary Studies

Faculty in Religious Studies Program

Dr. Jocelyn Hendrickson, Program Director & Graduate Coordinator
Office: 2-53 HM Tory Building
Email: jnhendri@ualberta.ca

Areas of Specialization - Islam; Maghreb

Dr. David Quinter, Associate Professor 
Office: 3-31 Pembina Hall
Phone: 780.248.1202
Email: quinter@ualberta.ca
Areas of Specialization - Buddhism; Japan 

Dr. Neil Dalal, Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Office: 3-66 Assiniboia Hall
Phone: 780.492.3307
Email: neil.dalal@ualberta.ca
Areas of Specialization - Hinduism; Advaita Vedanta 

Dr. Peter Sabo, Belzberg Lecturer in Jewish Studies
Office: 437-E
Email: psabo@ualberta.ca
Areas of Specialization - Judaism; Hebrew Bible

Francis Landy, Professor Emeritus

Felice Lifshitz, Professor
Office: 1-02F Assiniboia Hall
Email: felice.lifshitz@ualberta.ca
Areas of Specialization - Pre-modern Christianity; Gender and Women

Dagmar Wujastyk, Associate Professor
Email: dagmar.wujastyk@ualberta.ca
Areas of Specialization - Hinduism; Ayurveda and Yoga

Lorne Zelyck, Adjunct Associate Professor
secondment from St. Joseph's College, 2017-2022
Email: zelyck@ualberta.ca
Areas of Specialization - Early Christianity 

Willi Braun, Emeritus
Areas of Specialization - Ancient Christianity; New Testament

Religious Studies Council Members

Braun, Willi, (Emeritus)
Brown, Sylvia, English & Film Studies   sylvia.brown@ualberta.ca
Coleman, Heather, History & Classics   hcoleman@ualberta.ca
Cuplinskas, Indre, St. Joseph's College   indre.cuplinskas@ualberta.ca          
Dalal, Neil, Undergraduate Advisor Religious Studies / Philosophy                          ndalal@ualberta.ca
DeBernardi, Jean, Anthropology   jean.debernardi@ualberta.ca
Dunch, Ryan, Program Director & Graduate Coordinator Religious Studies / History & Classics   ryan.dunch@ualberta.ca 
Frishkopf, Michael, Director Canadian Centre for Enthnomusicology / Music   michaelf@ualberta.ca
Gay, David, English & Film Studies   david.gay@ualberta.ca
Gow, Andrew, History & Classics (Emeritus)   andrew.gow@ualberta.ca
Greer, Joan, Art & Design   jegreer@ualberta.ca
Hendrickson, Jocelyn, Religious Studies / History & Classics   jnhendri@ualberta.ca 
Hijmans, Steven, History & Classics   shijmans@ualberta.ca
Hill, Joseph, Anthropology   jbhill@ualberta.ca
Jay, Jennifer, History & Classics   jennifer.jay@ualberta.ca  
Kent, Stephen, Sociology   steve.kent@ualberta.ca
Kitchen, John, Religious Studies / History & Classics   john.kitchen@ualberta.ca
Kostelecky, Matt, St. Joseph's College   kostelec@ualberta.ca
Kowalsky, Nathan, Science, Technology and Society / St. Joseph's College (Philosophy)        
Lamoureux, Denis, St. Joseph’s College   dlamoure@ualberta.ca
Lifshitz, Felice, Religious Studies / Women's and Gender Studies / Campus St. Jean     felice.lifshitz@ualberta.ca
McDougall, Ann, History & Classics   ann.mcdougall@ualberta.ca
Quinter, David, Religious Studies / East Asian Studies   quinter@ualberta.ca
Rak, Julie, English & Film Studies   julie.rak@ualberta.ca
Rymarz, Richard, St. Joseph's College   richard.rymarz@ualberta.ca
Samson, Jane, History & Classics   jane.samson@ualberta.ca
Sulz, David, Religious Studies Liaison Librarian   david.sulz@ualberta.ca
Thompson, Guy, History & Classics   guy.thompson@ualberta.ca
Wesselius, Janet, Philosophy / Augustana Campus   janet.wesselius@ualberta.ca
 Zelyck, Lorne, St. Joseph's College   zelyck@ualberta.ca