October Faculty Awards and Accolades

    Congratulations to the Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation alumni, faculty, staff and students being recognized this month!

    November 7, 2018

    Congratulations to the Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation alumni, faculty, staff and students being recognized this month!

    Faculty Recognition

    Mountains Studies Interdisciplinary Team wins Teaching Unit Award as part of the 2018 University of Alberta Awards for Teaching Excellence. Team includes Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation faculty and staff members Zac Robinson, Jill Cameron and Craig Steinback. READ MORE

    Student Recognition

    Jenna Davie: Indspire’s Building Brighter Futures: Bursaries, Scholarships and Awards recipient—Health Careers Award. Research topic: Exploring connections with the land in a sport context among Indigenous youth in Urban Centres.

    Mu He: Best Poster Award for 2018 TTRA Canada Conference (Travel and Tourism Research Association-Canada chapter). Title: How would a climate change interpretive program impact visitors' leisure experiences? Evidence from a lab-based experiment.

    Heather Larson: Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship. These scholarships reward the high level of achievement of students pursuing graduate studies in Alberta. Research topic: Exploring the relative contributions of training patterns and training contexts to burnout and dropout in swimming.

    An Nguyen: Tim and Nancy Muzyka Graduate Award: Awarded annually to a student newly admitted to a full-time Master's or Doctoral program whose program of study relates to research and information transfer in physical education and/or movement literacy, with emphasis on the health benefits and health risk reduction in children and youth with special needs. Research topic: Moving across difference: designing physical activity programs for LGBTQ2S participants experiencing disability

    Congratulations to the following 40 Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation student-athletes for being named 2017/2018 Academic All-Canadians (maintaining an average of 80% or better over the academic year while competing full-time for one of the university’s varsity teams):

    • Alexander Mcmullin
    • Alexander Hague
    • Alexandra Poznikoff
    • Alexandre Bouferguene
    • Alix Evans
    • Anna Dunn
    • Arran Chambers
    • Autumn MacDougall
    • Bailey Sallis
    • Benjamin Mickelsen
    • Brenna Mattiello
    • Brooke Lang
    • Cara Lang
    • Christopher Lem
    • Christopher Morrow
    • Courtney Hebert
    • Danielle Schmiemann
    • Deanna Morin
    • Elyse Hart
    • Emily Cliff
    • Gregory Farmer
    • Hayley Basterash
    • Heidi Peake
    • Jaslin Sawtzky
    • Kathryn Doyle
    • Kelsey Tangjerd
    • Kristen Streifel
    • Krystin Paquette
    • Kyle Sluchinski
    • Levon Hawreliak
    • Melvin Arciaga
    • Morgan Corbett
    • Nathan Schmidt
    • Rachel Hyink
    • Regan Wright
    • Riyo Tomita
    • Royden Radowits
    • Shauntelle Hogg
    • Spencer Allen


    Athletics Recognition

    A record number of University of Alberta student-athletes were honoured on October 17th at the annual Golden Bears and Pandas Academic All-Canadian Breakfast. The 174 Academic All-Canadians during the 2017/18 varsity season is the most ever for the University of Alberta. READ MORE

    Ajeej Sarkaria, third-year Golden Bears Soccer forward: Sakaria added to his already sparkling resume on October 13 and 14 with two goals and three assists over the weekend, setting a new Canada West record . He was named Canada West Men’s First Star for the week for the period ending October 14. READ MORE.


    Alumni Recognition

    Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation alumna Patti LaBoucane-Benson (BPE ’90) was appointed to the Canadian Senate on October 3 by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau. LaBoucane-Benson is a proud Métis who has dedicated her life to helping Indigenous families. Her most recent work has focused on increasing Indigenous peoples' awareness of their legal rights and responsibilities, and improving opportunities for vulnerable youth in Alberta. READ MORE