Alumna Darlene Scott, QC, elected president of Law Society of Alberta

Nine other alumni will start three-year terms as benchers

Helen Metella - 19 November 2020

University of Alberta Faculty of Law alumna Darlene Scott, QC, has been named 2020-21 President-Elect of the Law Society of Alberta.

Scott, ‘84 LLB, is a senior partner in the Edmonton office of Dentons Canada LLP, and one of several Faculty of Law alumni who featured prominently in the LSA’s 2020 election of benchers this month.

Alumni who will serve a three-year term as benchers beginning February 25, 2021 also include the following, who are from either Edmonton or Calgary:

Moira Vane, ‘02 LLB; Cal Johnson, QC, ‘75 LLB; Sandra Petersson, ‘91 LLB; Margaret Unsworth, QC, ‘83 LLB; Ted Feehan, ‘88 LLB; Deanna Steblyk, QC, ‘98 LLB; and Bill Hendsbee, QC, ‘93 LLB.

Alumni elected as benchers representing areas outside either Edmonton or Calgary include Corie Flett, QC, ‘10 LLB, (Northern District); and Bud Melnyk, QC, ‘90 LLB, (Central District)

Meanwhile, Lexpert magazine’s annual list of Top 40 Under 40 lawyers in Canada also included two Faculty of Law alumni.

They are Lindsay Cox, ‘05 LLB, now practising with Burnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP in Calgary, and Maxwell P. Carroll, ‘09 LLB, now with Lawson Lundell LLP in Vancouver.