Faculty of Law alumni are leaders in their communities, their countries, and around the world. We are very proud of the exceptional accomplishments of all of our graduates.

Some of our distinguished alumni include:

Leaders on the Bench

The Honourable William Stevenson
Class of 1957

  • Retired Supreme Court of Canada Justice

The Honourable Allan Wachowich
Class of 1958

  • Retired Chief Justice, Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta

The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin
Class of 1968

  • Chief Justice of Canada
  • First female Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada

The Honourable Catherine Fraser
Class of 1970

  • Chief Justice of Alberta

The Honourable Neil Wittman
Class of 1967

  • Chief Justice, Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta

Leaders in Business

David McLean, OBC, LL.D.
Class of 1962

  • Chairman of the Board, Canadian National Railway Company
  • Chairman of the Board and CEO, The McLean Group

Frank MacInnis
Class of 1971

  • Chairman and CEO of EMCOR Group, Inc.

Daryl Katz
Class of 1985

  • Chairman and CEO, The Katz Group

Leaders in Politics

The Honourable Peter Lougheed, PC, CC, Q.C.
Class of 1952

  • Former Premier of Alberta

The Honourable Ron Ghitter, Q.C.
Class of 1959

  • Former Alberta MLA and Senator

Aboriginal Leaders

Wilton Littlechild, O.C., Q.C.
Class of 1976

  • Member of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues
  • First treaty Indian in Canada to serve as a Member of Parliament
  • Member of the Truth & Reconciliation Committee

The Honourable Leonard S. Mandamin
Class of 1982

  • Justice, Court Marital Appeal Court of Appeal

Leaders in Sport

Clarence Campbell (1905 -1984)
Class of 1926

  • Former President of the National Hockey League
  • Rhodes Scholar

Edward Molstad, Q.C.
Class of 1970

  • Former professional football player (CFL - Edmonton Eskimos)
  • Current legal counsel for the Canadian Football League Players' Association

Dave Fennell
Class of 1979

  • Former professional football player (CFL - Edmonton Eskimos)
  • Founded Golden Star Resources, one of the largest and most successful mining companies in Canada
  • Current Executive Vice-Chairman and a Director of Miramar Mining Corporation