The History of the Faculty of Law

Stories (List of Firsts)

The Centenary of the Faculty of Law provides a wonderful opportunity to celebrate our rich history. We would like to use the occasion to tell the tale of the Faculty in an unusual, personal and interactive way by establishing a List of U of A Firsts.

Over the course of our centenary year, we will be posting a List of Firsts that demonstrates the extraordinary achievements of the Faculty, its students and staff. As you will see, the List of Firsts will describe significant achievements in many fields: legal, judicial, artistic, sporting, cultural and every other sector of life. Some of the achievements will astonish even our most of informed alumni, friends and faculty members. Others will have a whimsical note that we hope you will find entertaining. Together they will show the enormous influence this Faculty has had on Alberta, Canada and the world for a full century. Ever since its modest beginnings before the First World War, this Faculty has punched far above its weight.

The task of unearthing the history of the Faculty cannot be accomplished just by nuggets of information that have lodged in the minds of current faculty members or that appear in official records. To be successful, this project must be interactive and we need you, the alumni and friends of the Faculty of Law, to provide us with suggestions for adding to the list, so that we can ultimately compile an interesting and valuable historical record.

We would be delighted to receive all your comments and suggestions at:

David R Percy, QC
Chair, Centenary Committee

Featured Firsts Story

UAlberta Faculty of Law's List of Firsts: Margaret Crang (Class of 1932), the first woman law graduate to serve on City Council in Edmonton

The ‘List of Firsts’ is intended to be an interactive site, there will be mistakes, and we are seeking your input, guidance, remarks, stories, suggestions, and photographs for inclusion in our ‘List of Firsts’.

Convocation Hall

Convocation Hall - Former home to the Faculty of Law