Chairs and Professorships

Endowed chairs and professorships allow the University of Alberta Faculty of Law to develop and enhance scholarship in important areas of study, and to recruit faculty from among the world’s top legal scholars. We currently have endowed chairs and professorships in the fields of health law, energy law, international trade, business law, and law and ethics.


Borden Ladner Gervais Chair of Energy Law and Policy

The Borden Ladner Gervais LLP Chair in Energy Law and Policy is awarded to an academic of international reputation who will provide leadership, vision and expertise that enhances research and teaching in the Faculty of Law, and instructs at least one course annually in the area of energy law and policy.

David Percy, QC, MA (Oxford), LLM (Virginia)

Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy

The Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy undertakes interdisciplinary research to further knowledge related to ethical and legal issues associated with genetics and biotechnology; developing specific regulatory recommendations for policy makers.

Timothy Caulfield, BSc (Alberta), LLB (Alberta), LLM (Dalhousie)

Canada Research Chair in Social Theory, Culture and Law

Using social theory, cultural analysis and archival research to understand concepts of crime and punishment that govern people, the Canada Research Chair in Social Theory, Culture and Law’s findings will improve Canada’s criminal justice system by proposing inclusive ways to address many actions that are now defined and punished as criminal.

George Pavlich, BA and BA, Hons (University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa), MA (Simon Fraser), PhD (British Columbia)


CN Professor of International Trade

The CN Professorship in International Trade is awarded to an academic with expertise in the area of International Trade Law.

Linda Reif, LLB (Windsor), LLM (Cambridge)

F.R. (Dick) Matthews, QC, Professor of Business Law

The F.R. (Dick) Matthews, QC Professor of Business Law professorship is enabled by an endowment set up by Dick Matthews, Class of 1948. Dick studied accounting pre-law and that inspired him to support a professorship in business law.

Roderick J. Wood, LLB (Sask.), LLM (Toronto)

Wilbur Fee Bowker Professor of Law

The Bowker Professorship honours the memory of Dean Emeritus Wilbur Fee Bowker, OC, LLD, (Hons.), KC, who served as dean of the Faculty of Law from 1948 to 1968 and was instrumental in the development of the law school as we know it today. Bowker also played a key role in the creation of the Alberta Law Reform Institute in 1967 and served as its first director from 1968-1975. In recognition of his outstanding contributions, he received the Order of Canada in 1990 and an honorary doctorate from the University of Alberta in 1992. He died in 1999 and in 2001 the Bowker Professorship was established in his memory.

Paul D. Paton, BA, LLB (Toronto), MPhil (Cambridge), JSM, JSD (Stanford)