Linguistics

Graduate Students

Abdulaziz Alarifi (PhD)
Phonetics, phonology, second language phonology, L2 phonology/orthography interface, Arabic language
aalarifi@ualberta.ca
Rodrigo Becerra (PhD) rbecerra@ualberta.ca
Kayla Day (PhD)
First and second language acquisition, phonological acquisition
knday@ualberta.ca
Dagmara Dowbor (PhD)
Cognitive linguistics, semantics, pragmatics, corpus linguistics, semantics/syntax interface, grammaticalization
dowbor@ualberta.ca
Catherine Ford (MSc) cford1@ualberta.ca
Michelle Garcia-Vega (PhD) Language documentation, Totonac languages, morpho-syntax/semantics, phonetics
mgarciav@ualberta.ca
Figen Karaca (MSc)  karaca@ualberta.ca
Krithika Govingarajan (PhD)
Language acquisition, bilingualism, language disorders
krithika@ualberta.ca
Atticus Harrigan (PhD)
Corpus linguistics, computational linguistics, North American indigenous languages, language documentation and revitalization, morphosyntax and phonetics.
galvin@ualberta.ca
Claudia Heinrich (PhD)
Cognitive linguistics and semantics, Talmyan semantics, corpus linguistics
claudia2@ualberta.ca
Keren Hernandez (MSc)
First and second language acquisition, child bilingualism, language disorders, language attrition, heritage languages.
khernand@ualberta.ca
Jennifer Hinnell Warner (PhD)
Co-speech gesture, multimodality, language in interaction, cognitive semantics, corpus linguistics
hinnell@ualberta.ca
Isabell Hubert (PhD)
Extra-linguistic information in language comprehension, natural language processing, psycholinguistics, corpus linguistics
isabell@ualberta.ca
Matthew Kelley (PhD)
Psycholinguistics, speech processing, phonetics, and phonology
mckelley@ualberta.ca
Pamela Labonte (MSc) Language documentation and revitalization.
plabonte@ualberta.ca
Kaidi Lõo (PhD)
Morphology, Estonian, psycholinguistics, computational linguistics
kloo@ualberta.ca
Erin McGarvey (MSc)

emcgarve@ualberta.ca

Rachel McGraw (PhD)
Sociolinguistics, second language acquisition, bilingualism, language ideology, linguistic anthropology
rmcgraw@ualberta.ca
Devin Moore (PhD)
Morphosyntax, semantics, Totonac languages and documentation
devin.moore@ualberta.ca
Yoichi Mukai (PhD)
Phonetics, psycholinguistics, and second language speech
mukai@ualberta.ca
Filip Nenadic (PhD) nenadic@ualberta.ca
Kevin Penner (PhD) Mixtecan languages, tone analysis, phonology, phonetics, morphosyntax
kpenner@ualberta.ca
Rebekka Puderbaugh (PhD)
Phonetics, field linguistics, language documentation
puderbau@ualberta.ca
Brian Rusk (PhD)
Language acquisition, child second language acquisition, morphosyntax
brusk@ualberta.ca
Olivia Sammons (PhD)
Language documentation and revitalization, Algonquian languages (Michif, Sauk), morphosyntax, language contact, French sociolinguistics
sammons@ualberta.ca
Katherine Schmirler (PhD)
Comparative linguistics, Algonquian languages, language documentation, morphosyntax
schmirle@ualberta.ca
Saliu Shittu (PhD)
Phonological acquisition, language acquisition/attrition, bilingualism
sshittu@ualberta.ca
Abigail Toth (MSc) agtoth@ualberta.ca
Nicholas Toler (PhD)
Language documentation and revitalization, cognitive linguistics, semantics, and morphosyntax.  Focus is primarily on study of Yup'ik-Inuit-Unangan languages and on native American languages in general.
toler@ualberta.ca
Magdalena Winters Difani (MSc) Language acquisition, bilingualism and heritage language. 
wintersd@ualberta.ca