Linguistics

Graduate Students

Abdulaziz Alarifi (PhD)
Phonetics, phonology, second language phonology, L2 phonology/orthography interface, Arabic language
aalarifi@ualberta.ca
McKinley Alden (PhD) 

Phonetics, Athabaskan/Dené languages, language processing
malden@ualberta.ca

Wenfu Bao (MSc) Psycholinguisitcs, second language acquisition, phonetics, and phonology
wenfu@ualberta.ca
Aisha Barise (MSc) Syntax, morpho-syntax, voice and valence, Japanese linguistics, language change and phonology
abarise@ualberta.ca
Rodrigo Becerra (PhD)
Grammar and information structure, functional and cognitive linguistics, Mapuche language, language documentation and revitalization
rbecerra@ualberta.ca
Dalia Cristerna Roman (MA)
Spanish syntax and semantics, psycholinguistics, nominal phrase structure
dcrister@ulberta.ca
Dagmara Dowbor (PhD)
Cognitive linguistics, semantics, pragmatics, corpus linguistics, semantics/syntax interface, grammaticalization
dowbor@ualberta.ca
Michelle Garcia-Vega (PhD) Language documentation, Totonac languages, morpho-syntax/semantics, phonetics
mgarciav@ualberta.ca
Lex Giesbrecht (MA) Indigenous languages, endangered languages, morphology, morphosyntax, semantics
sagiesbr@ualberta.ca
Krithika Govingarajan (PhD)
Language acquisition, bilingualism, language disorders
krithika@ualberta.ca
Atticus Harrigan (PhD)
Corpus linguistics, computational linguistics, North American indigenous languages, language documentation and revitalization, morphosyntax and phonetics
galvin@ualberta.ca
Stephanie Hedges (PhD)

Sociolinguistics, language contact, historical linguistics
shedges@ualberta.ca

Claudia Heinrich (PhD)
Cognitive linguistics and semantics, Talmyan semantics, corpus linguistics
claudia2@ualberta.ca
Jennifer Hinnell (PhD)
Co-speech gesture, multimodality, language in interaction, cognitive semantics, corpus linguistics
hinnell@ualberta.ca
Isabell Hubert (PhD)
Extra-linguistic information and individual differences (personality, politics) in language comprehension, experimental psycholinguistics, pupillometry
isabell@ualberta.ca
Matthew Kelley (PhD)
Phonetics, spoken word recognition, automatic speech recognition
mckelley@ualberta.ca
Pamela Labonte (MSc) Language documentation and revitalization, Indigenous languages of Canada (Dené, Cree), proficiency assessments and textbook design for Indigenous languages
plabonte@ualberta.ca
Erin McGarvey (MSc)

emcgarve@ualberta.ca

Rachel McGraw (PhD)
Linguistic anthropology, sociolinguistics, child language acquisition of Totenac, language sustainability of Totonac
rmcgraw@ualberta.ca
Devin Moore (PhD)
Morphosyntax, semantics, Totonac languages and documentation
devin.moore@ualberta.ca
Yoichi Mukai (PhD)
Phonetics, psycholinguistics, and second language speech
mukai@ualberta.ca
Filip Nenadic (PhD) nenadic@ualberta.ca
Scott Perry (PhD)

L2 Speech learning, phonetics, laboratory phonology, romance languages
sperry1@ualberta.ca

Rebekka Puderbaugh (PhD)
Phonetics, field linguistics, language documentation
puderbau@ualberta.ca
Veranika Puhacheuskaya (PhD)

puhacheu@ualberta.ca 

Mariana Quintana (MSc)

Phonology, morphology, indigenous languages
quintanai@ualberta.ca

Alexander Rice (PhD) Morphosyntax, discourse, corpus linguistics, gesture, phonology, language documentation and revitalization, Quechuan and Western Amazonian languages  
rice@ualberta.ca
Brian Rusk (PhD)
Child second language acquisition, morphosyntax, eye-tracking
brusk@ualberta.ca
Olivia Sammons (PhD)
Language contact; sociolinguistics; langauge documentation, description, and revitalization;  corpus development
sammons@ualberta.ca
Katherine Schmirler (PhD)
Comparative linguistics, Algonquian languages, language documentation, morphosyntax
schmirle@ualberta.ca
Nicholas Toler (PhD)
Language documentation and revitalization, cognitive linguistics, semantics, and morphosyntax.  Focus is primarily on study of Yup'ik-Inuit-Unangan languages and on native American languages in general
toler@ualberta.ca