Faculty Affairs

Faculty Development Committee

The FoMD Faculty Development Committee is pleased to assist our University of Alberta colleagues in the city, and around the province. We can provide training and information on a variety of topics, and/or link you with colleagues in these areas:

  • Competency Based Medical Education
  • Teaching and Assessment Skills
  • Graduate and Summer Student Supervision
  • Education Scholarship
  • Annual Report Online
  • Tenure and Promotion
  • Leadership skills

Committee Members

Dr. Mia Lang

Associate Dean, Faculty Development

Dr. Lang is the Associate Dean, Faculty Development in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry.  She assists faculty members with various aspects of their academic careers, including teaching skills, leadership development, and mentorship. She is actively involved in faculty development for Competency-Based Medical Education.

Dr. Nahla Gomaa

Professor of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery

Dr. Gomaa believes in innovation, scholarships, and student’s engagement as the way to cope with the ever-changing medical teaching domain, keep professional development, and progression of learners. She is a member of a number of National and International associations in Medial education and Teaching in Higher education.


Gisele Gaudet-Amigo

Curriculum Coordinator, School of Dentistry

Dr. Gaudet-Amigo is the curriculum coordinator in the School of Dentistry. She works to identify, inform and facilitate best practices in teaching and learning.



Dr. Jonathan Choy

Clinical Professor, Associate Dean, Clinical Faculty

Dr. Choy studied his MD at the UofA. After completing his Internal Medicine training at the University of Manitoba, he completed training in Cardiology and Echocardiography. He spent time at the University of Bonn, Germany and Oxford University, UK to develop a special expertise in myocardial contrast perfusion echocardiography. He is currently practicing at the Mazankowski AB Heart Institute. 


Dr. Sujata Persad

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Dr Persad is an associate professor and researcher in the department of pediatrics and adjunct associate professor in the department of Oncology. Her research focusses on  the mechanism of cancer metastasis. She completed her PhD training at the University of Manitoba with post-doctoral fellowship at University of British Columbia. Dr. Persad is the program director for graduate Education in the Department of Pediatrics.  


Dr. Hanne Ostergaard

Professor of Immunology and Associate Dean Research, Graduate Programs

Dr. Ostergaard takes a special interest in effective graduate student training, mentoring and supervision by our faculty and professional and career development for our graduate students and postdoctoral fellows


Dr.Stephane Bourque

Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine

Dr. Stephane Bourque is currently appointed as Assistant Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry.



Dr. Sudha Koppula

Faculty Development Director, Department of Family Medicine, Member of the College of Family Physicians of Canada

Dr. Koppula is an academic family physician at the University of Alberta Department of Family Medicine. In addition to a full-range family practice, she is a member of MomCare Docs, a busy maternity care practice in Edmonton. She is her department's Faculty Development Director and Associate Chair which are roles she greatly enjoys.


Dr. William Dafoe

Associate Chair, Department of Medicine

Dr. Dafoe's initial interest in medical education came in his role as the medical representative from the U of Alberta for the establishment of a new medical school with the Aga Khan University of East Africa in Nairobi. He was also the Associate Dean of Continuous Professional Development, and then was seconded by the Department of Medicine as Interim Divisional Director of Dermatology.


Dr. Louanne Keenan

Director, Community Engaged Research/Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Dr. Keenan has expertise in qualitative research methods. Dr. Keenan is well-versed in both Photo Voice and Photo Elicitation as methods for working with communities to make changes in their health. Dr. Keenan's other interests include Inner City and Global Health.


Dr. Carol S. Hodgson

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Hodgson entered the field of medical education at the UCLA School of Medicine in 1992.  Her areas of expertise are in curriculum design, evaluation, medical education research, and faculty development. Dr. Hodgson's research focuses in the area of professionalism, cancer education, and care for people with disabilities.


Dr. Manjula Gowrishankar, MD, FRCPC

Professor of Pediatrics, Associate Chair Faculty Development in the Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Gowrishankar has a special interest in mentoring, teaching and feedback for all learners and faculty. She directs the Peer-Consultation Program for faculty.



Dr. Martha Burkle

Development Collaborations Coordinator, Faculty Development

Dr. Burkle holds a PhD from the University of Sussex in the United Kingdom on Technology Innovation and Higher Education. Her research focuses on faculty development for learning innovation, learning analytics, and the application of digital technologies to support medical education.