Alumni Newsletter


We are pleased to have launched a monthly electronic newsletter to our alumni about our alumni. We hope you enjoy our news. If you are not receiving our newsletter but would like to be included, please contact the alumni office at or fill this form to be included in the email list.

April 2017 Issue

Dr. Louis Hugo Francescutti

 Photo: Louis Francescutti receives a Meritorious Service Medal (Military Division).

Alumni Awards & Accolades

Congratulations to all our alumni doing great things!


Louis Hugo Francescutti received a Meritorious Service Medal (Military Division) on April 4, 2017 from David Johnston, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada (Photo above).

Rejish Thomas won the Coordinators of Postgraduate Psychiatry Education (COPE) Best Paper Award.

Ronald Lett is a recipient of the Augustana Distinguished Alumni Award. 

Ernest Janzen has been recognized with the 2016 Regional Prix d’excellence-Specialist as Specialist of the Year in Western Canada by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. The award recognizes specialists who have made significant contributions in providing outstanding care to their patients and community. See the Prairie Post story.

Photo: Ernest Janzen (By Ian Martens, retrieved from The Prairie Post)

Laura Stovel was recognized as Physician of the Year at the Edmonton Medical Staff Association 2017 Awards.

Erika MacIntyre received the Champion for Young Leaders Award at the Edmonton Medical Staff Association 2017 Awards.

Mark Heule was presented with the Edmonton Medical Staff Association 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award - Internal Medicine

Lawrence Cheung received the CAME Certificate of Merit.

George Goldsand was the recipient of the American College of Physicians Laureate Medallion for his lifetime of contributions to the medical field.

Michele Dyson received funding from the Health Outcomes Improvement Fund provided through Alberta Health Services' MNCY Strategic Clinical Network for a study to explore teens’ barriers and facilitators in changing lifestyle habits.

Jason Dyck received a Hair Massacure 2016-2017 grant for cancer research, commencing July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

Patrick Duke received the Mewburn Memorial Medal in Surgery.


Want to share good news about your peers? Send alumni awards & accolades to