Laboratory Medicine and Pathology

Department News

NOTICE:  With the increasing containment measurement in response to the COVID-19 pandemic the Chief Medical Officer of Health and Alberta Health / the University of Alberta leadership requests that all non essential meetings are suspended.  Accordingly we will suspend:

  • LMP rounds until further notice
  • DRIvE Days, originally scheduled for April 24 & 25, 2020

Thank you very for your understanding


Congratulations to Professor Xing-Fang Li for receiving the 2020 Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) Ricardo Aroca Award. Dr. Li, Professor in the Division of Analytical and Environmental Toxicology, is recognized for her distinguished contributions to analytical chemistry for water research and environmental health.  The award, which consists of a framed scroll, $1,000 cash and up to $1000 for travel expenses to this CSC Conference, will be presented during the 103rd Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition which is taking place in Winnipeg on May 24-28, 2020.

Congratulations to Dr. Steve Hrudey for his appointment to the Order of Canada. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, made 120 new appointments, including 5 Companions, 38 Officers, and 77 Members. Dr. Hrudey is one of the new Members (C.M.) of the Order of Canada, announced on December 28, 2019.  Dr. Hrudey is Professor Emeritus in the Division of Analytical and Environmental Toxicology. He is honored "for his contributions to environmental health sciences and for his advocacy of safe drinking water".

The Office of the Vice-President (Research and Innovation) has announced the appointment of Dr. Jason Acker as the Academic Lead for the Postdoctoral Fellows Office/Academic Visitors Office for a three-year term beginning on September 1, 2019.

The American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI) held a competition for an 'HLA Elevator Pitch'. The goal was to create short videos in lay language explaining the relevance of HLA (human leukocyte antigen) system in transplantation. Madeline Miller asked her mother Ms. Anne Halpin, the Laboratory Scientist for our local HLA laboratory, many questions and then created and submitted this "HLA in a Minute" video. Competing against video submissions from around the world, Madeline's video won first prize in this competition. Congratulations Madeline! We might have a lot to learn from 12 year olds when it comes to explaining our science in lay language.   (Click here for Madeline's video).

Our Department is proud to announce the following recipients  of the 2018 Kaye Competition from the University Hospital Foundation and Alberta Health Services which grants individual awards ranging from $25,000 to $250,000. Their bold projects will help transform the face of patient care through quality improvement and research innovation at the University of Alberta Hospital and Kaye Edmonton Clinic.  (See full details).

  • Dr. Ben Adam
  • Dr. Carmen Charlton
  • Dr. Iyare Izevbaye
  • Dr. Remegio Maglantay
  • Dr. Albert Tsui
  • Dr. Frank van Landeghem

Congratulations to Dr. Xing-Fang Li who was recently awarded the Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Analytical and Environmental Toxicology. This award includes $1,400,000 from the Canada Research Chairs program, payable over seven years to the University of Alberta. The news of CRC has been shared by the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry (click here for details) and the University of Alberta (click here for details).

Ms. Danielle Lee has been awarded the 2019 President Award from the CAP-ACP (Canadian Association of Pathologists - Association canadienne des pathologistes) for her pivotal role in the creation of a Canadian certification process for Pathologists' Assistants.  This award recognizes long and sustained service of an exceptional order to the CAP-ACP in whatever capacity by an individual.

Dr. Jason Acker has been selected to receive the University of Alberta Graduate Student Association’s Graduate Student Supervisory Award.  This award is given to "recognize those faculty members who excel in the supervision of graduate students” at the University.  Another testament to the strength of our graduate training program!  Dr. Acker will receive the award on March 22, 2019.