Laboratory Medicine and Pathology

Department News

Our Department is proud to announce the following recipients  of the 2018 Kaye Competition from the University Hospital Foundation and Alberta Health Services which grants individual awards ranging from $25,000 to $250,000. Their bold projects will help transform the face of patient care through quality improvement and research innovation at the University of Alberta Hospital and Kaye Edmonton Clinic.  See full details at

  • Dr. Ben Adam
  • Dr. Carmen Charlton
  • Dr. Iyare Izevbaye
  • Dr. Remegio Maglantay
  • Dr. Albert Tsui
  • Dr. Frank van Landeghem

Congratulations to Dr. Xing-Fang Li who was recently awarded the Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Analytical and Environmental Toxicology. This award includes $1,400,000 from the Canada Research Chairs program, payable over seven years to the University of Alberta. The news of CRC has been shared by the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry ( and the University of Alberta (

Ms. Danielle Lee has been awarded the 2019 President Award from the CAP-ACP (Canadian Association of Pathologists - Association canadienne des pathologistes) for her pivotal role in the creation of a Canadian certification process for Pathologists' Assistants.  This award recognizes long and sustained service of an exceptional order to the CAP-ACP in whatever capacity by an individual.

Dr. Jason Acker has been selected to receive the University of Alberta Graduate Student Association’s Graduate Student Supervisory Award.  This award is given to "recognize those faculty members who excel in the supervision of graduate students” at the University.  Another testament to the strength of our graduate training program!  Dr. Acker will receive the award on March 22, 2019.

Dr. Jason Acker and Dr. Janet Elliott have been named Fellows of the International Society for Cryobiology and will receive the prestigious Basile J. Luyet medal at the 2019 annual meeting of the Society in San Diego in July 2019. This is the highest honour given by the Society and is awarded to members of the Society and individuals from the cryobiology community who have made an outstanding contribution to the field. This honour has only been awarded 25 times in the Society’s 56-year history. Drs. Acker and Elliott will join only two other Canadians who have been named Fellows of the Society for Cryobiology.

Dr. Chris Le was awarded the 2018 University Cup. “The University Cup is the highest honor this university can bestow on a member of the academic staff and is awarded only to those individuals who have achieved outstanding distinction in each of the areas of scholarship research, teaching, and service”. This award recognizes Dr. Le’s outstanding teaching, leading research, and exceptional service to both the university and broader community.