Department of Oncology

Areas of Training

The Department of Oncology trains students to conduct basic and translational research into mechanisms of cancer causation, detection, imaging, diagnosis, treatment and prevention. The Department offers thesis-based M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Oncology and is organized under two specializations: Cancer Sciences and Medical Physics.


CANCER SCIENCES

Laboratory-based basic and translational research training is provided primarily through the Divisions of Experimental Oncology and Palliative Care, but this specialization also serves students in the Divisions of Oncologic Imaging, Radiation Oncology, and Surgical Oncology.

 

Current potential supervisors and research areas:

 

Dr. Vickie Baracos  vickie.baracos@ualberta.ca  

Muscle atrophy in cancer associated cachexia 

 

Dr. Kristi Baker  kbaker2@ualberta.ca

Anti-tumor immunity; genetic instability; colorectal cancer 

 

 

Dr. Gordon Chan  gkc@ualberta.ca

Mitotic cell cycle checkpoint and cancer 

 

 

Dr. YangXin Fu  yangxin@ualberta.ca

Signaling pathways and gene regulation in ovarian cancer and therapeutics

 

Dr. Armin Gamper  gamper@ualberta.ca

DNA damage response: radiation biology

 

 

Dr. Roseline Godbout  rgodbout@ualberta.ca

Cancer as a developmental disease; retinoblastoma; brain tumors

 

 

Dr. Michael Hendzel  michael.hendzel@ualberta.ca

Nuclear components; DNA damage response; chromatin-based epigenetic mechanisms

 

 

Dr. Mary Hitt  mary.hitt@ualberta.ca

Oncolytic viruses; adenovirus replication; gene regulation; RNA interference; gene therapy

 

Dr. Ismail Ismail  iismail@ualberta.ca

Targeting the DNA damage response in B cell malignancies

 

Dr. Piyush Kumar  pkumar@ualberta.ca 

Development of Molecular Theranostic (Therapy+Diagnostic) Agents for Cancer Diseases

 

 

Dr. John Lewis  jdlewis@ualberta.ca

Translational prostate cancer research; nanoparticles, novel therapeutics, in vivo imaging

 

 

Dr. David Murray  dmurray@ualberta.ca

DNA repair in the response to anti-cancer agents; prediction of patient response to therapy

 

Dr. Manijeh Pasdar  manijeh.pasdar@ualberta.ca

Molecular mechanisms of adhesion-mediated signaling during cell growth and oncogenesis

 

Dr. Lynne Postovit  postovit@ualberta.ca

Environmental control of normal and cancer stem cell plasticity

 

Dr. Wilson Roa  wroa@ualberta.ca

Nono-carrier platforms for therapeutic applications; image guided radiotherapy

 

Dr. Michael Sawyer  msawyer@ualberta.ca

Cell biology, cell signaling and cancer, drug transporters

 

Dr. Ralf Schirrmacher  schirrma@ualberta.ca

Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry, development of PET imaging agents for neuro- and cancer imaging, medicinal chemistry and drug development

 

 

Dr. Jack Tuszynski  jackt@ualberta.ca

Computational biophysics; rational drug design; pharmacokinetics

 

Dr. Alan Underhill  alan.underhill@ualberta.ca

Transcription factors in melanoma; gene regulation & epigenetics

 

Dr. Michael Weinfeld  mweinfel@ualberta.ca

Detection and repair of DNA damage

 

Dr. Frank Wuest  wuest@ualberta.ca

Probe development for molecular imaging of cancer

 


MEDICAL PHYSICS

Do you have a strong background in physics or engineering physics and mathematics? Are you interested in the application of physics to medicine? This graduate program has been accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Educational Programs (CAMPEP) since 2002.

 

Students are supervised by faculty in the division of Medical Physics.

 

Research interests are principally concentrated in four areas:

 

  • Multi-institutional clinical trials - In collaboration with the Division of Radiation Oncology, we were the first and are currently the only Canadian centre accruing patients to the RTOG prostate, lung and glioblastoma 3D-CRT clinical trials. 
  • Development of radiotherapy planning techniques such as inverse planning, dose calculation algorithms including Monte Carlo simulations and simulated annealing techniques, and dose verification using imaging techniques.
  • Commissioning, integration and development of new technologies (e.g. Tomotherapy and the Linac-MR Project) required for the clinical introduction of new techniques to aid in the improved treatment of cancer patients.

Read more about research in division of Medical Physics.