

FACULTY OF MEDICINE & DENTISTRY Clinical Chairs Committee

Most Recent Approval Date: May 11, 2020

Most Recent Editorial Date: May 4, 2020

Office of Accountability:	Dean of Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Office of Administrative Responsibility:	Vice Dean Faculty Affairs
Approver:	Dean's Executive Committee
Scope:	Terms of Reference

Overview

The Clinical Chairs Committee advises the Dean and the Faculty on matters related to faculty operations in the clinical service mission.

1. Purpose

The purpose of this Committee is to facilitate the operations of the Faculty, specifically its clinical service responsibilities and initiatives.

- 1.1. Has the overall responsibility of advising the Dean, on Faculty-wide clinical service operational matters.
- 1.2. Assumes those duties and functions as delegated by the Dean's Executive Committee or the Dean.

2. Responsibilities:

Provide guidance and efforts in the areas of:

- 2.1. Operational issues impacting the Faculty's clinical service mission; as appropriate, develop and implement tactics to respond said issues;
- 2.2. Regular reports from the Faculty's standing advisory committees, and from other constituencies as needed.
- 2.3. Policy review prior to submission to Faculty Council (as appropriate).
- 2.4. Disseminate information as appropriate to academic Clinical Departments, and provide feedback from Clinical Departmental faculty on relevant issues.

3. Composition:

- 3.1 Chair (Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry)
- 3.2 Clinical Department Chairs

- 3.3 Vice-Dean, Faculty Affairs
- 3.4 Director of Finance & Senior Financial Officer
- 3.5 Associate Dean, Health Informatics

4. Meetings:

- 4.1 Meetings will be held monthly or at the call of the chair
- 4.2 A quorum will be the Chair (or a designated alternate) and 50% of members.
- 4.3 The Chair votes only in the event of a tie.

Clinical Chairs Committee Membership

POSITION	MEMBER(S)
Chair (Dean)	Brenda Hemmelgarn
Voting Members - Ex-Officio:	
Chair, Anesthesiology & Pain Med	Andrew Shaw
Chair, Dentistry	Paul Major
Chair, Critical Care Medicine	Sean Bagshaw
Chair, Emergency Medicine	Bill Sevcik
Chair, Family Medicine	Lee Green
Chair, Medical Genetics	Peter Kannu
Chair, Medicine	Narmin Kassam
Chair, Obstetrics & Gynecology	Jane Schulz (Interim)
Chair, Oncology	David Eisenstat
Chair, Ophthalmology	Karim Damji
Chair, Pediatrics	Sarah Forgie
Chair, Psychiatry	Xin Min Li
Chair, Radiology/Diagnostic Imaging	Derek Emery
Chair, Surgery	David Williams
Chair, Laboratory Med & Pathology	Michael Mengel
Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs	Dennis Kunimoto
Vice Dean, Education	Shirley Schipper
Director of Finance & Senior Financial Officer	Li-Kwong Cheah
Associate Dean, Clinical/Translational Research	Lawrence Richer
Associate Dean, Health Informatics	Jacques Romney
Associate Dean, Clinical Faculty	Jonathan Choy
Associate Dean, PGME	Ramona Kearney

DEFINITIONS

Any definitions listed in the following table apply to this document only with no implied or intended institution-wide use. [Top]	
Defined Term	There are no definitions for this Policy

RELATED LINKS

No Related Links for this Procedure