

FACULTY OF MEDICINE & DENTISTRY <u>Department Chairs Committee</u>

Most Recent Approval Date: May 11, 2020

Most Recent Editorial Date: May 4, 2020

Office of Accountability:	Dean of Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Office of Administrative Responsibility:	Vice Dean Faculty Affairs
Approver:	Dean's Executive Committee
Scope:	Terms of Reference

Overview

The Chairs Committee advises the Dean and the Faculty on matters related to faculty operations.

1. Purpose

The purpose of this Committee is to facilitate the operations of the Faculty, specifically its academic responsibilities and initiatives.

- 1.1. Has the overall responsibility of advising the Dean, on Faculty-wide academic operational matters.
- 1.2. Assumes those duties and functions as delegated by the Dean's Executive Committee or the Dean.

2. Responsibilities:

Provide guidance and efforts in the areas of:

- 2.1. Operational issues impacting the Faculty; as appropriate, develop and implement tactics to respond said issues;
- 2.2. Regular reports from the Faculty's standing advisory committees, and from other constituencies as needed.
- 2.3. Policy review prior to submission to Faculty Council (as appropriate).
- 2.4. Disseminate information as appropriate to academic Departments, and provide feedback from Departmental faculty on relevant issues.

3. Composition:

- 3.1 Chair (Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry)
- 3.2 Department Chairs

- 3.3 Vice-Deans
- 3.4 Director of Finance & Senior Financial Officer

4. Meetings:

- 5.1 Meetings will be held monthly or at the call of the chair
- 5.2 A quorum will be the Chair (or a designated alternate) and 50% of members.
- 5.3 The Chair votes only in the event of a tie.

Department Chairs Committee Membership

POSITION	MEMBER(S)
Chair (Dean)	Brenda Hemmelgarn
Voting Members - Ex-Officio:	
Chair, Anesthesiology & Pain Med	Andrew Shaw
Chair, Biochemistry	Charles Holmes
Chair, Biomedical Engineering	Robert Burrell
Chair, Cell Biology	Andrew Simmonds
Chair, Critical Care Medicine	Sean Bagshaw
Chair, Dentistry	Paul Major
Chair, Emergency Medicine	Bill Sevcik
Chair, Family Medicine	Lee Green
Chair, Medical Genetics	Peter Kannu
Chair, Med Microbiology/Immunology	Matthias Gotte
Chair, Medicine	Narmin Kassam
Chair, Obstetrics & Gynecology	Jane Schulz (Interim)
Chair, Oncology	David Eisenstat
Chair, Ophthalmology	Karim Damji
Chair, Pediatrics	Sarah Forgie
Chair, Pharmacology	Ross Tsuyuki
Chair, Physiology	James Young
Chair, Psychiatry	Xin Min Li
Chair, Radiology/Diagnostic Imaging	Derek Emery
Chair, Surgery	David C. Williams
Chair, Laboratory Med & Pathology	Michael Mengel
Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs	Dennis Kunimoto
Vice Dean, Education	Shirley Schipper
Vice Dean, Research	Chris Power
Director of Finance & Senior Financial Officer	Li-Kwong Cheah

DEFINITIONS

Any definitions listed in the following table apply to this document only with no implied or intended institution-wide use. [ATOD]

Defined Term There are no definitions for this Policy

RELATED LINKS

No Related Links for this Procedure