

FACULTY OF MEDICINE & DENTISTRY FoMD Professionalism Committee Terms of Reference

Original development Date: March 2012

Most Recent Approval Date: March 18, 2019

Most Recent Editorial Date: June 04, 2021

Office of Accountability:	Dean of Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry
Office of Administrative Responsibility:	Vice Dean Faculty Affairs
Approver:	Dean's Executive Committee
Scope:	Terms of Reference

Overview:

The FoMD Professionalism Committee is an administrative advisory committee of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Any changes to the Terms of Reference must be approved by Faculty Affairs Committee through the office of the Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs. It shall function in accordance with these Terms of Reference. A review of this document shall be undertaken at least once every 3 years.

1. Vision: Honesty, Respect, Transparency

2. Mission Statement:

- a. Foster a safe and supportive environment that acknowledges that occasional lapses in Professionalism occur, and provide educational, scholarly, and collegial processes and support to mitigate and remediate these incidents (education & scholarship)
- b. Support a culture, within the faculty, that celebrates Professionalism as an integral part of education, research, and the practice of healthcare (accolades/awareness)
- c. Create an understanding that our over-arching goal is that faculty use informal conflict resolution as the initial and primary tool to resolve issues that pertain to professionalism (incidents/lapses)
- d. Provide an infrastructure that ensures consistent and just management of lapses (administration)
- e. Promote the importance of professional health, work-life harmony, and peer monitoring as a key component to being a 'Healthy Professional' (self- and peer- health)

3. Purpose:

Under the authority of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, the FoMD Professionalism Committee (formerly the Standing Committee on Professionalism) reports to the Vice Dean Faculty Affairs, who then reports to the Dean. The purpose of this Committee is to foster a culture of professionalism across all programs within the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, and across all health professions.

The committee will use the following definition of Professionalism: Professionalism is the behavior by which we demonstrate that we are worthy of the trust bestowed upon us by the public, because we are working for the public good (Swick 2000). Professionalism is demonstrated by a series of behaviors and attitudes expected of FoMD members within their FoMD roles that upholds the highest standards of ethical conduct, integrity, respect and accountability. These require social and communicative competence to integrate multiple competing priorities in complex and uncertain environments. This will define how we handle ourselves in different situations, such as teaching, learning, mentoring, research, clinical care, administration and community engagement.

Swick HM. 2000. Towards a normative definition of medical professionalism. Acad. Med. 75:612-616.

4. Responsibilities:

- 4.1 Provide processes and guidance in the areas of:
 - a) Professionalism
 - b) Inter-disciplinary initiatives and innovations to build professionalism in the workplace
 - c) Professionalism education initiatives across FoMD for students, residents, graduate students and faculty
 - d) Views around what constitutes professional behavior within FoMD, acknowledging the importance of context and evolution
- 4.2 Liaise with Alberta Health Services on matters that pertain to professionalism with a particular attention to patient care and clinical workplace
- 4.3 Develop and provide resources to assist academic leads in maintaining faculty-wide professional behaviours and mitigating lapses in those expected behaviours

5. Composition:

- 5.1 Chair: Associate Dean. Professionalism
- 5.2 Appointed members:

Associate Dean, UME (or delegate)

Associate Dean, PGME (or delegate)

Associate Dean, Research, Graduate Programs

Associate Dean, Advocacy and Wellbeing (or delegate)

Associate Dean, Clinical Faculty

Associate Dean, Faculty Development

Associate Dean, Health Informatics

Assistant Dean, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

Associate Dean, Lifelong Learning

Associate Chair, Student Affairs, Dentistry (or delegate)

Associate Chair & Director, Dental Hygiene (or delegate)

Director, Medical Laboratory Science BSc program

Director, Radiation Therapy BSc program

Director, Arts & Humanities in Health & Medicine

Director, John Dossetor Health Ethics Centre

AHS Associate Zone Medical Director and Academic Liaison

Resident representative

Medical Student representative

Graduate Student representative

Dentistry Student representative

Dental Hygiene Student representative

Medical Laboratory Science Student representative

Radiation Therapy Student representative

Post-doctoral Fellow representative

- 5.3 Elected member: one
- 5.4 Ad Hoc member: one
- 5.5 Ex-Officio members (or delegate):

Vice Dean, Education

Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs

6. Procedures:

- 6.1 The election of the one elected faculty member (A1.1) takes place internally through the appropriate Vice-Dean, with a term of 3 years, renewable once at the discretion of the Vice Dean Faculty Affairs in consultation with the Associate Dean Professionalism.
- 6.2 Normally, the Committee reaches decisions by consensus.
- 6.3 The Chair votes only in the event of a tie, should a vote be necessary for the Committee to take.

7. Meetings:

- 7.1 Meetings will be held quarterly.
- 7.2 A quorum will be the Chair (or a designated alternate) and 50% of voting members.

8. Members:

FoMD Professionalism Committee			
POSITION	MEMBER(S)	TERM	
Chair: Associate Dean, Professionalism	Dr. Penny Smyth		
Appointed Members:			
Associate Dean, UME (or delegate)	Dr. Darryl Rolfson (B Debenham)		
Associate Dean, PGME (or delegate)	Dr. Lawrence Cheung		
Associate Dean Research, Grad Programs	Vacant		
Associate Dean, Faculty Wellbeing (or delegate)	Dr. Robert Pauly		
Associate Dean, Clinical Faculty	Dr. Jonathan Choy		
Associate Dean, Faculty Development (Acting)	Dr. Manjula Gowrishankar		
Associate Dean, Health Informatics	Vacant		

Assistant Dean, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion	Lisa Purdy	
Associate Dean, Lifelong Learning	Dr. Denise Campbell-Scherer	
Associate Chair, Student Affairs Dentistry (or delegate)	Dr. Blaine AuCoin	
Associate Chair & Director, Dental Hygiene (or delegate)	Prof. Rachelle Pratt	
Director, Medical Lab Science BSc program	Prof. Rhonda Pouliot	
Director, Radiation Therapy BSc program	Ms. Susan Fawcett	
Director, Arts & Humanities in Health & Medicine	Dr. Pamela Brett-MacLean	
Director, John Dossetor Centre (Clinical Ethicist)	Dr. Michael van Manen	
AHS Associate ZMD & Academic Liaison	Dr. Neil Gibson	
Resident Representative	Dr. Claire McNiven	
Medical Student Representative	Mr. Austin Beever	
Graduate Student Representative	Ms. Ghada Aborkees	
Dentistry Student Representative	Mr. Josh Benner - 2 years	
Dental Hygiene Student Representative	Ms. Jayden Raby	
Med Lab Science Student Representative	Mr. Paxton Sheppard	
Radiation Therapy Student Representative	Ms. Macy Kotanko - 2 years	
Post-doctoral Fellow Representative	Vacant	
Elected Member	Dr. Carol Hodgson	01/07/2018 - 31/06/2021
Ex Officio Members:		
Vice Dean Education	Dr. Shirley Schipper	
Vice Dean Faculty Affairs	Dr. Dennis Kunimoto	
Table updated Dec 07, 2023		

Administrative changes approved May 07, 2021 by FAC Document definition revised June 04, 2021 Membership update Dec 07, 2023