Upcoming Awards

A monthly Awards and Accolades column is published and circulated within the FoMD Update newsletter, and is consistently one of the newsletter’s most-read items. Information about awards is reported by email in response to a monthly call, but can also be submitted using a button on the FoMD home page. The information gathered is celebrated on our social media channels, including Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) Annual Awards

AFMC Award for Outstanding Contribution to Faculty Development in Canada - Due October 13, 2020

In order to emphasize the importance of faculty development and to recognize an individual or a group in Canada who has made an exceptional contribution in the area of Faculty Development, AFMC is pleased to offer the Award for Outstanding Contribution to Faculty Development in Canada.
Past recipients: David Cook (2004)

AFMC Clinical Teacher Award - Due October 13, 2020

The AFMC Clinical Teacher Award recognizes individuals who have a sustained track record as outstanding teachers to medical students, residents and other health profession students. The award is open to candidates who are clinicians with MD or another professional degree.
Past recipient: Vijay Daniels (2018)

AFMC John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education - Due October 13, 2020

The AFMC - John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education will be awarded to an individual or group who has developed innovative print materials, electronic learning aids or other teaching aids. These Canadian innovations can take the form of textbooks, software, CD-ROMS or other technology that has aided medical education initiatives in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing medical education.

AFMC President's Award for Exemplary National Leadership in Academic Medicine - Due October 13, 2020

The award recognizes excellence for national leadership in academic medicine. Activities might include providing leadership on national collaborative activities that provide frameworks for curriculum in health education; guidelines for faculty on teaching approaches or recruitment and student support, faculty affairs; advocacy for excellence in medical education or research in medical education; bio-medical or health services research.

AFMC Young Educators Award - Due October 13, 2020

The AFMC Young Educators Award recognizes individuals within their first seven years as a faculty member who have produced change within their university or within the medical community as a whole through their vision, work, and interaction with colleagues. The award is open only to candidates with MD or graduate degrees. Nominees will often be recognized as outstanding teachers but this in itself will not be the basis for the award.

AFMC - May Cohen Equity, Diversity, and Gender Award - Due October 13, 2020

This award recognizes outstanding effort or achievement of an individual(s), program(s), department(s) or faculty in improving the gender equity environment in academic medicine in Canada.

AFMC Charles Boehlen International Social Accountability Award - Due October 13, 2020

This award aims to celebrate groups of people or organizations whose professional accomplishments are an example of the principles of social accountability implemented as defined in the Global Consensus for Social Accountability of Medical Schools (www.healthsocialaccountability.org) and in internationally recognized references.



Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)

Duncan Graham Award for Lifelong Contribution to Medical Education (RCPSC) - Due December 15, 2020

The Award is conferred upon any individual, whether physician or not, in recognition of outstanding contribution to medical education.
Past recipients: Donald R. Wilson (1981), Walter C. MacKenzie (1971)

James H. Graham Award of Merit for Commitment to the Royal College (RCPSC) - Due December 15, 2020

The recipient's achievements must be outstanding, and must be reflective of the Royal College strategic priorities. Potential candidates, who need not be physicians, could be contributors in a wide variety of areas including, but not limited to Patient Care, Societal Health / well-being, International / Global Health, Post-graduate Medical Education, Continuing Professional Development, Health policy, Professionalism / Volunteerism (e.g., Royal College volunteer, NSS volunteer), Physician / Resident health and well-being Etc. Further information on the Royal College strategic priorities can be found in the Strategic Plan.
Past recipients: George Goldsand (2002), Donald R. Wilson (1989)

Royal College/Associated Medical Services Donald R. Wilson Award (CanMEDS integration) (RCPSC) - Due December 15, 2020

This award is given annually to a medical educator or a leader of a team, program, or department who has demonstrated excellence in integrating the CanMEDS roles into a Royal College or other health related training program.

Early Career Leadership Award in Medical Education (RCPSC) - Due December 15, 2020

The Award for Early-Career Leadership in Medical Education honors new Royal College Fellows (with 7 or fewer years of post-training full-time practice) who have shown outstanding leadership, initiative, service and/or innovation in medical education and/or Continuing Professional Development (CPD).

Royal College Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award - Due December 15, 2020

The purpose of the Royal College Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award is to acknowledge and celebrate Canadian physicians or physicians-in-training who epitomize a zeal and devotion to Canadian Indigenous rights and the dogged pursuit of justice for Canada's Indigenous people.
Past recipients: Esther Tailfeathers (2018), Lindsay Crowshoe (2019)

Royal College Teasdale-Corti Humanitarian Award - Due December 15, 2020

The Teasdale-Corti Humanitarian Award recognizes doctors who make truly exceptional sacrifices, often while exposing themselves to personal risk. These remarkable physicians forgo the benefits, comforts and supports of working in Canada to bring hope and health to less-developed pockets of the world.

Royal Society of Canada Fellowships - Due December 1, 2020

(Contact Mark Taylor, Senior Director of Research - mtaylor4@ualberta.ca for information on application process and internal deadlines)
The fellowship of the RSC comprises distinguished men and women from all branches of learning who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian public life.

University of Alberta Alumni Awards - Due December 15, 2020

The University of Alberta Alumni Awards recognize the professional achievements, community service and innovation of graduates around the globe-people who uphold the promise to use their education - for the public good.” If you know a U of A grad who deserves to be recognized, we hope you will consider nominating them for an alumni award.