Awards & Accolades - November 2020

Celebrating the achievements of our faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 20 November 2020

Faculty excellence

Dr. Peter Senior, Department of Medicine, is the recipient of the 2020 Gerald S. Wong Service Award from Diabetes Canada for his long-standing and significant contribution to the diabetes community.

Congratulations to Dr. Gurmeet Singh, Department of Medicine, on receiving the Canadian Cardiovascular Society (CCS) Humanitarian Award. 

Dr. Pamela Brett-MacLean, Department of Psychiatry, received an Outstanding Contribution Award from The Taos Institute in recognition of her creative leadership and contributions to the text Social Construction in Action, which celebrates the Taos Institute’s 25th-anniversary conference.

Dr. Marc Curial, Department of Emergency Medicine, recently attained regulatory approval on a COVID-19 isolation device developed by his newly established University of Alberta spinoff company MACH32. The company was recently named one of the top five companies in Edmonton in the Startup TNT Investment Summit. Good luck to the team on presenting your final pitches on Nov. 19. 

Dr. Jason Plemel, Department of Medicine and Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute member, has received a pilot grant from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. 

Engaged educators

Congratulations to Val Masson, team lead, Postgraduate Office of Surgical Education, on receiving the Annual Support Staff Recognition Award from the U of A. 

Dr. Bonita Lee, Pediatric Infectious Diseases, and the Pediatric Infection Prevention Control Team; and Dr. Karen Forbes, Pediatric Hospital Medicine, and the Pediatric Clerkship Bootcamp Team; were recognized for their work with a 2020 Award for COVID Leadership from the Pediatric Chairs of Canada.

Dr. Andrew Holt, departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology, received the Department of Psychiatry Education Committee Teaching Award. 

Dr. Tarek El-Bialy, School of Dentistry, was selected to present “best finished orthodontic case in North America” in the category of “teen” at the Invisalign Summit.

Dr. Melanie Lewis, Department of Pediatrics, is the recipient of the U of A 2020 Excellence in Leadership Award.

Top 40 under 40 

Edify magazine (formerly Avenue) released the class of 2020 Top 40 under 40. Congratulations to the following FoMD affiliates who were recognized this year: