Awards & Accolades - September 2021

Celebrating the achievements of faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 23 September 2021

National excellence

Congratulations to Dr. Sandra Davidge, Distinguished University Professor and executive director of the Women and Children's Health Research Institute (WCHRI), and Dr. Xing-Fang Li, Canada Research Chair in Analytical and Environmental Toxicology in the Department of Laboratory Medicine, on being named to the Royal Society of Canada. Read more.  

The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences welcomed five Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry (FoMD) researchers as new Fellows. Congratulations to the following! Read more

Congratulations to Dr. Monty Ghosh, Department of Medicine, on receiving the CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career) in recognition of his exemplary creativity, initiative and commitment to Covid screening and harm reduction in Calgary’s downtown core. 

Outstanding in their field

Congratulations to Dr. Mobolaj Lawal, Department of Psychiatry, on being appointed as Edmonton Zone Section Chief for Community Mental Health, Addiction and Mental Health. 


Manasi Rajagopal, Research Program Lead, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, was recognized with the University of Alberta's 2021 Support Staff Research Enhancement Award. The nomination highlighted her many positive contributions and indicated that she is "the glue that holds our team together." 


Dr. Shelley Ross, Department of Family Medicine, has received the 2021 CFPC Honorary Membership from the College of Family Physicians of Canada. This honour recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to the CFPC, the discipline of family medicine, the medical profession, or the health and well-being of the population in Canada and/or globally.

Dr. Aldo J. Montano-Loza, Department of Medicine, was recognized as an Expertscape World Expert in sarcopenia.   

Department of Emergency Medicine

The Department of Emergency Medicine congratulates the following department members on the following awards:

  • Outstanding teacher of the year: Dr. Moritz Haager
  • Outstanding teacher of the year (off-service): Dr. Arabesque Parker, Department of Critical Care
  • Garnet Cummings Lifetime Achievement Award in Emergency Medicine: Maria Borges
  • Maria Borges Allied Health Professional Teaching Award: Chioma Obuekwe
  • Terry Sosnowski Memorial Award in Emergency Medicine: Dr. Kristin Morch and Dr. Rebecca Schonnop


Learners as leaders

Adeolu Adegoke and Dr. Colin C. Anderson, Department of Surgery and member of Alberta Diabetes and Alberta Transplant institutes, won an American Association of Immunologists (AAI) Careers in Immunology Fellowship



Medical student Julia Sawatzky is the recipient of the 2020 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award. Congratulations, Julia!