Independent Student Analysis

The Independent Student Analysis (ISA) survey and report provide a comprehensive picture of students’ perceptions of their medical education program. The ISA is completed independent of the medical school and the ISA report is one of the documents submitted to CACMS and the site visiting team by the program three months prior to the site visit.

The Independent Student Analysis (ISA) is a key component of the Canadian medical school accreditation process that is defined by the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS). The ISA final report combines responses to a survey that was sent to all current students in the medical education program at the University of Alberta (Classes 2021, 2022, 2023, and 2024). The final report serves to summarize and analyze the results of the survey and offer recommendations for improvement. The response rate was 73.2%, exceeding our goal of 70%, with 484/661 medical students completing the ISA survey.

This survey was designed in accordance with the questions and guidelines set out by CACMS. Supplementary questions were also included based on important areas that the Student Task Force (STF) thought should be addressed in the report.

The task force consulted with key student groups (such as the Indigenous Medical and Dental Students' Association (IMDSA), the Black Medical Students' Association (BMSA)) and collaborated with student experts as part of their process. The report summarizes the methods, results of the survey, program strengths, and areas for improvement.

Read the final report

ISA Task Force Members and Student Involvement

The ISA was undertaken by a number of student body members and the final report written by a selected task force as detailed below.

Independent Student Analysis Task Force Co-Chairs

  • Marissa L. Ledger, MD student, '22
  • Jillian Meyer, MD student, '24

Independent Student Analysis Survey Design and Data Collection

  • Michael George, MD student, '23
  • Ibrahim Sadiq, MD student, '23
  • Elizabeth Hillier, MD student, '23

Independent Student Analysis Task Force

  • Christina Ray, MD student, '22
  • Grace Georgopoulos, MD student, '22
  • Gavin Naicker, MD student, '23
  • Jonas Szelewicki, MD student, '23
  • Michael George, MD student, '23
  • Katie Caldwell, MD student, '24
  • Sydney Inthof, MD student, '24