Funding Opportunities

Following significant changes in the traditional funding sources, our program's funding platform is currently in transition. More information will be available soon.

MD/PhD students have been very successful in receiving high-value scholarships such as the Alberta Innovates - Health Sciences MD-PhD studentships, Vanier scholarships, and other research-area specific scholarships.

Common sources of funding for doctoral students may include:

FoMD-specific scholarships

Department-specific awards (please contact your program's graduate administrator)

FGSR awards

Alberta Innovates

Tri-council funding (CIHR, NSERC, or SSHRC doctoral studentships, Vanier awards)

Supervisor's grant support

 MD/PhD students specifically are eligible for other scholarships such as the Jean McDiarmaid scholarship, the Lorne Tyrell MD/PhD Clinical Investigator Award, the EC Wershof award, and other endowed studentships. The value of these varies from year to year and nomination is done automatically by the MD/PhD program administration.

For more information, please contact:

Nonso Ezenwa
Tel: 780-492-9721