Medical Students' Association

Clubs and Interest Groups

2018/2019 MSA Clubs and Interest Groups

Clubs and Interest Groups are student-run organizations that bring together medical students with similar interests and ideas. With 62 groups this year, there's no shortage of options! These groups host a wide range of activities and events around student health and wellness, education, the arts, advocacy, and other areas of interest.

Events and engagement are tailored to students in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Check out our calendar to see a list of events, or you can request to join the email list of any of the clubs below. If you would like to become a member or find out more information about any specific Club or Interest Group, please email the group leader(s).

Have an idea for a club? New ideas are always welcome! Contact our VP Student Affairs, Paul Barber, at msavpstudentaffairs@ualberta.ca for more information.

Clubs Policy

Clubs Presentation 2016-2017
(2018-2019 Edition, Coming Soon!)

2018/2019 Clubs Guide

Group Name Leader(s) Contact More
Information
The Arts
Courtyard Choir

Joanna Lam

Anthony Sze

Genie Kwon 

wingman@ualberta.ca

asze@ualberta.ca

kwon@ualberta.ca

Click Here
French in Practice

Daniel He

Mariam Gourban

dhe@ualberta.ca

mgoubran@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Syncope Jazz Band

Anthony Sze 

Matthew Roberts

asze@ualberta.ca

mrrobert@ualberta.ca

Click Here
The Heart Chords

Jeremy Lee 

Kristina Jeon

Erica Baines

jklee1@ualberta.ca

kjeon@ualberta.ca

ebaines@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Medical Specialties and Areas of Interest
Anesthesia Club

Dawson Lafleur

Christine Chiu 

Scott Moorman

djlafleu@ualberta.ca

cchiu@ualberta.ca

moorman@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Cardiology Club

Jeremy Lee 

Cassandra Nysten

jklee1@ualberta.ca

nysten@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Clinical Neurosciences Club

Erica Baines 

Henrique De Sa Ellwanger

ebaines@ualberta.ca

desaellw@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Clinical Skills Club

Brianne St. Hilaire

Zacnicte May

bsthilai@ualberta.ca

zacnicte@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Critical Care and Trauma Club

Bryce Tkachuk

Dawson Lafleur

Zohaib Siddiqi

btkachuk@ualberta.ca

djlafleu@ualberta.ca

anwer@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Dermatology Club

Virginia Goetz 

Philip Surmanowicz

vgoetz@ualberta.ca

surmanow@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Emergency Medicine Club

Dirk Chisholm 

Jahaan Ali 

Lloyd Visser 

dachisho@ualberta.ca

jahaan@ualberta.ca

llvisser@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Family Medicine Interest Group

Kerry Howell

howell@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Fika Friends 

Caitlin Finley

Luke Harrison

Devon Sylvestre

cfinley@ualberta.ca

greenhar@ualberta.ca

dsylvest@ualberta.ca

 
Gastroenterology Interest Group Muhammad Moolla moolla@ualberta.ca Click Here
Geriatrics Club

Kaylin Bechard 

Gurleen Brar

kbechard@ualberta.ca

gkbrar@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Infectious Diseases and Tropical Medicine Club

Aashna Duggal 

Jack Underschultz

Krystle Samways

duggal@ualberta.ca

undersch@ualberta.ca

samways@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Internal Medicine Club

Julien Ferland

Mariam Goubran

Chu Yang Lin

ferland1@ualberta.ca

mgoubran@ualberta.ca

chuyang@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Lab Medicine and Pathology Club

Ali Barras 

Marissa Burns

Zosia Czarnecka

abarras@ualberta.ca

mjburns@ualberta.ca

prusczar@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Club

 Virgina Goetz

Jamie Hilland

vgoetz@ualberta.ca

jhilland@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Oncology Club

Patrick Albers

Jesse Grist

Patrick Hamilton

palbers@ualberta.ca

grist@ualberta.ca

phamilto@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Orthopedic Surgery Club

Nick Yee 

Josh Tiessen

Scott Moorman

Jeremy Lee 

nick.yee@ualberta.ca

jjtiesse@ualberta.ca

moorman@ualberta.ca

jklee1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Ophthalmology Club Tyler Henry   tjhenry@ualberta.ca Click Here
Otolaryngology Club

Tyler Henry

Jordan Garside

tjhenry@ualberta.ca

rgarside@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Pediatrics Club

Allyson Wrubleski

Erin Hessey

Catherine Deschenes

wrublesk@ualberta.ca

hessey@ualberta.ca

de3@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Physical Exam Practice Club

Joanna Yuen 

Michelle Chang

jhyuen@ualberta.ca

mchang1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Club

Brodie Ritchie

Irina Simin 

blrithchi@ualberta.ca

simin@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Interest Group

Alexander Perry 

Lloyd Visser

Joshua Hahn

acp@ualberta.ca

llvisser@ualberta.ca

hahn@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Psychiatry Club

Zahra Nikakhtari 

Erica Baines

znikakht@ualberta.ca

ebaines@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Public Health Interest Group

 Zohaib Siddiqi 

Kaylin Bechard

anwer@ualberta.ca

kbechard@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Radiology Club

Scott Wong 

Jyote Boora

Patrick Ciechanski 

sawong1@ualberta.ca

jyote.boora@ualberta.ca

ciechans@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Respirology Club

Krystle Samways

Robyn Millott

samways@ualberta.ca

millott@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Rural Medicine Interest Group

Julie Munich

David Edgeworth

Alexander Miles 

munich@ualberta.ca

edgewort@ualberta.ca

amiles@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Space Medicine Club

Nick Yee 

Chris Clarke

David Edgeworth

nick.yee@ualberta.ca

ceclarke@ualberta.ca

edgewort@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Sports Medicine Club

Irina Simin

Brandon Zhao

Trent Schimmel

simin@ualberta.ca

byzhao@ualberta.ca

schimmel@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Surgery Club

Patrick Albers 

Alexander Miles 

Brodie Ritchie

palbers@ualberta.ca

amiles@ualberta.ca

blritchi@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Urology Club

Tracy Pham 

Brett Orr

ttp@ualberta.ca

borr@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Wilderness Medicine Club

Harry Anzinger

Shawn Dodd

aninger@ualberta.ca

sxdodd@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Games and Sports
Basketball Club

Patrick Curry 

Sean McKenzie

pcurry@ualberta.ca

smmckenz@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Board Game Club

Brett Orr

Joanna Lam

borr@ualberta.ca

wingman@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Climbing Club

Henrique De Sa Ellwanger

Megan Webb

desaellw@ualberta.ca

mewebb@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Curling Club

Sophia Yip 

Ray Sun

sophia1@ualberta.ca

ruixiang@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Hockey Club

Mark Craig

Jack Underschultz

Jesse Grist

mdcraig1@ualberta.ca

undersch@ualberta.ca

grist@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Med/Dent Dance Club Dora Gyenes

dgyenes@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Soccer Club

Perrin Michalyshyn

Ammar Ghalab

Kiersten Schwann

pmichaly@ualberta.ca

ghalab@ualberta.ca

schwann@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Yoga Club  Rebecca Reid

rsreid@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Miscellaneous
Business in Medicine Harry Anzinger anzinger@ualberta.ca Click Here
Christian Medical and Dental Society (CMDS)

Esther Lee 

Stephanie Unrau

Jacqueline Karathra

Homun Yee

kyungsu@ualberta.ca

sunrau@ualberta.ca

karathra@ualberta.ca

homun@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Food and Friends

Ambika Agrawal

Asad Makhani

agrawal@ualberta.ca

makhani@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Interdisciplinary Health Club

Sophia Yip

Asad Makhani

sophia1@ualberta.ca

makhani@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Literary Interest Group

Rebecca McCourt

Claudine Le Bosquain

rmccourt@ualberta.ca

lebosqa@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Medical Students for Choice

Allyson Wrubleski

Tracy Pham

Amy Yan

Cindy Xue 

wrublesk@ualberta.ca

ttp@ualberta.ca

ayy@ualberta.ca

jcxue@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Pre-Clinical Exam Review Club

Paul Li 

Michelle Millions

Zahra Nikakhtari

pli2@ualberta.ca

memillio@ualberta.ca

znikakht@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Research Interest Group

Katharine Jensen

Michael Taylor

katharin@ualberta.ca

mjtaylor@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Run Without Borders

Marissa Burns

Zosia Czarnecka

Joren Manz

mjburns@ualberta.ca

prusczar@ualberta.ca

joren@ualberta.ca

Click Here 
Stethoscode

Daniel He

Muhammad Moolla

Marc Beaudin

dhe@ualberta.ca

moolla@ualberta.ca

mbeaudin@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Student Budget Eats

Chu Yang Lin 

Michelle Chang 

chuyang@ualberta.ca

mchang1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Women in Medicine & Surgery

Jamie Hilland

Joanna Yuen

Cindy Xue

jhilland@ualberta.ca

jhyuen@ualberta.ca

jcxue@ualberta.ca

Click Here