Medical Students' Association

Clubs and Interest Groups

2019/2020 MSA Clubs and Interest Groups

Clubs and Interest Groups are student-run organizations that bring together medical students with similar interests and ideas. With 62 groups this year, there's no shortage of options! These groups host a wide range of activities and events around student health and wellness, education, the arts, advocacy, and other areas of interest.

Events and engagement are tailored to students in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Check out our calendar to see a list of events, or you can request to join the email list of any of the clubs below. If you would like to become a member or find out more information about any specific Club or Interest Group, please email the group leader(s).

Have an idea for a club? New ideas are always welcome! Contact our VP Student Affairs, Nick Taylor, at msavpstudentaffairs@ualberta.ca for more information.

Clubs Policy 

2019/2020 Clubs Guide  (Coming Soon)

Group Name Leader(s) Contact More
Information
The Arts
Courtyard Choir Dave Saraswat              dsaraswa@ualberta.ca              Click Here
French in Practice

Amira Aissou

Sage Brown

Susie Muncner

aissiou@ualberta.ca

sabrown@ualberta.ca

muncner@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Syncope Jazz Band

Amy Bobyn

bobyn@ualberta.ca              Click Here
The Heart Chords

Rei Chee

Sarah Park

rcchee@outlook.com

suhyeon1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Medical Specialties and Areas of Interest
Anesthesia Club

Conrad Bayley

Katia Milovanova

Quin Pon

cbayley@ualberta.ca

emilovan@ualberta.ca

qpon@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Cardiology Club

Cindy Qian

Hanjie Zhu

xqian@ualberta.ca

hanjie@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Clinical Neurosciences Club

Beth Langford

Dave Saraswat

Hanjie Zhu

mlangfor@ualberta.ca

davesaraswat@ualberta.ca

hanjie@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Clinical Skills Club

Karl Berendt

Nicole Brockman

kberendt@ualberta.ca

nbrockma@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Critical Care and Trauma Club

Eric Paxman

Fiona Tran

Quynh Nguyen

epaxman@ualberta.ca

ftran@ualberta.ca

nguyenth@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Dermatology Club

Amy Du

Yusef Yousuf

xdu@ualberta.ca

yyousuf@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Emergency Medicine Club

Kendra Raffael

Richard He

Shankar Jha

raffael@ualberta.ca

xhe4@ualberta.ca

shankar1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Family Medicine Interest Group

Aiden Zalasky

Angela Messer

Catherine Palme

Chloe Lee

Liane Kang

Sabrine Garrison

Usman Ahemd

aiden@ualberta.ca

amesser@ualberta.ca

palme@ualberta.ca

cklee@ualberta.ca

ljkang@ualberta.ca

garrison@ualberta.ca

suahmed@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Gastroenterology Interest Group   Click Here
Geriatrics Club

Jenny Li

Naik Arbabzada

Nicolas Gibson

jxl@ualberta.ca

naik@ualberta.ca

ngibson1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Infectious Diseases and Tropical Medicine Club Courtney Streu cstreu@ualberta.ca Click Here
Internal Medicine Club

Fiona Tran

Jon Mora

Usman Ahmed

ftran@ualberta.ca

jamora@ualberta.ca

suahmed@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Lab Medicine and Pathology Club     Click Here
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Club

Candace Beilman

Jennifer Gelfand

clbeilman@ualberta.ca

jgelfand@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Oncology Club

Heather Halperin

Minji Lee

Sid Goutam

hhalperi@ualberta.ca

ml@ualberta.ca

goutam@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Orthopedic Surgery Club

Jenn Halasz

Jenny He

Ryan Noble

halasz@ualberta.ca

jrhe@ualberta.ca

rrnoble@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Ophthalmology Club

Arthur Qi

Kahir Rahemtulla

Stephen Carrell

aaqi@ualberta.ca

kahir@ualberta.ca

scarrell@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Otolaryngology Club

Cynthia Nguyen

Kahir Rahemtulla

ctn4@ualberta.ca

kahir@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Pediatrics Club

Adee Adeleye

Amy Bobyn

Zander Affleck

adesewa@ualberta.ca

bobyn@ualberta.ca

affleck@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Physical Exam Practice Club

Kelly Anderson

Levi Ansell

kelly4@ualberta.ca

ljansell@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Club

Brianna Salverda

Meredith Stadnyk

salverda@ualberta.ca

stadnyk@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Interest Group

Alexander Platt

Matthew Mancuso

Nicolas Gibson

aplatt@ualberta.ca

mmancuso@ualberta.ca

ngibson1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Psychiatry Club

Eric Christenson

Muzammil Ahmad

echriste@ualberta.ca

mahmad1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Public Health Interest Group

Karkirat Singh

karkirat@ualberta.ca              Click Here
Radiology Club

Jack Zhang

Prayash Katlariwala

Tim Luo

jzzhang@ualberta.ca

prayash@ualberta.ca

tqluo@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Respirology Club

Claire Sumner

Michaela Perlau

Tenzin Dorjee

csumner@ualberta.ca

perlau@ualberta.ca

dorjee@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Rural Medicine Interest Group

Jason Ching

Kelly Anderson

Kristi Mellom

jmching@ualberta.ca

kelly4@ualberta.ca

mellom@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Space Medicine Club

Amira Aissiou

Janelle Sloychuk

Quynh Nguyen

aissiou@ualberta.ca

sloychuk@ualberta.ca

nguyenth@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Sports Medicine Club

Brianna Salverda

Jon Mora

Meredith Stadnyk

salverda@ualberta.ca

jamora@ualberta.ca

stadnyk@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Surgery Club

Alex Platt

Brendan Kelly

Jenny He

aplatt@ualberta.ca

bckelly@ualberta.ca

jrhe@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Urology Club

Conrad Bayley

Matthew Mancuso

cbayley@ualberta.ca

mmancuso@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Wilderness Medicine Club

Eric Paxman

Kendra Raffael

epaxman@ualberta.ca

raffael@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Games and Sports
Basketball Club     Click Here
Board Game Club

Jack Zhang

Sarah Park

jzzhang@ualberta.ca

suhyeon1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Climbing Club     Click Here
Curling Club Topher Mostert             

mostert@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Hockey Club

Aiden Zalasky

Rodger Craig

aiden@ualberta.ca

rcraig@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Kiteboarding Club 

 

 

Click Here
Med/Dent Dance Club

Allison Rau

Anulika Nwakaeze

arau1@ualberta.ca

nwakaeze@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Soccer Club  

 

Click Here
Yoga Club Christina Ray  cmray@ualberta.ca Click Here
Miscellaneous
Business in Medicine  
Click Here
Christian Medical and Dental Society (CMDS)

Adee Adesawa

Dickson Leung

Jonathan Lee

Julie Saby

adesewa@ualberta.ca

dhl@ualberta.ca

jglee@ualberta.ca

jsaby@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Fika Friends   

 

 
Food and Friends

Abby Rentz

Shane Eaton

rentz@ualberta.ca

seaton1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Friends of Medicins Sans Frontieres (MSF)  

 

 
Interdisciplinary Health Club Beth Langford

mlangfor@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Literary Interest Group  

 

Click Here
Medical Students for Choice

 

 

Click Here
Pre-Clinical Exam Review Club  

 

Click Here
Research Interest Group

Astrid De Boeck

Katharine Jensen

Mike Taylor

deboeck@ualberta.ca

katharin@ualberta.ca

mjtaylor@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Stethoscode Shane Eaton

seaton1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Student Budget Eats

 

 

Click Here
Women in Medicine & Surgery

Abby Renz

Cindy Qian

Dana Boe

rentz@ualberta.ca

xqian@ualberta.ca

boe@ualberta.ca

Click Here