Active Citizenship

MSA Council, 2015

Canadian Doctors for Medicare

Canadian Doctors for Medicare (CDM) strives to provide a voice for Canadian doctors who want to strengthen and improve Canada's universal publicly-funded health care system by advocating for innovations in treatment and prevention services that are evidence-based and improve access, quality, equity and sustainability. The University of Alberta student chapter will foster improved education around health system issues for medical students, engage member students in health care projects, as well as provide training and mentorship to students who show a passion for health policy and health systems management. The chapter will be involved in the following activities: hosting information talks/workshops, organizing lobbying efforts, producing publishable content for media platforms, as well as supporting the national CDM goals and projects.

Leaders and Contact:

Avery Crocker
Victor Do
Kirill Lissoviskiy
Tat Wong



 Edmonton Healthcare Improvement Network (EHIN)

The purpose of EHIN is to engage students in learning about the principles, methods, and tools for quality improvement through education and practice opportunities. We facilitate collaboration between students, faculty and professionals from Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Nursing, Public Health, Business, Rehabilitation Sciences, Engineering, and Law in order to learn, collaborate, and implement quality improvement and patient safety initiatives.

Leaders and Contact:

Steven Lu
Jacquelyn Paquet
Samuel Bradbrook



Health Advocacy and Leadership (HAL)

The HAL program provides support and resources for students to carry out health and advocacy projects of their choice. Students will be paired with experienced mentors to aid in the dvelopment of their choice. The program aims to foster and nurture the potential for leadership in our medical students, and remind these future physicians of their lifelong responsibility to serve as advocates in thier communities. 

Leaders and Contact:

Daphne Cheung
Philip Surmanowicz


Health Savvy Seniors

Health Savvy Seniors (HSS) is an initiative aimed at empowering Edmonton seniors to improve their health through interactive multidisciplinary health education sessions. We present various topics at seniors homes throughout the year, depending on the needs of the community. HSS provides a great opportunity for medical students to get involved in patient education, public speaking and health advocacy. The initiative was founded by internal medical residents and is co-led by a group of medical students each year. You can find more information at

Leaders and Contact: Caitlin Lee ( and Kai Homer (



Medicine Sciences Workshop

The MSW provides a unique opportunity to experience the medical field first hand and is open to both high school and undergraduate students. Whether medicine has been a lifelong dream or just something you would like to learn more about, join us for our 3 hour workshops. They will consist of interactive demos and opportunities to try using medical equipment.

Leaders and Contact: Amit Persad ( and Diya Shi (



Sexuality and Gender Advocacy (SGA) Committee

The SGA aims to address Alberta’s sexual and gender minority health disparities, through collaboration, education of health professionals, and advocating for sustainable social change. We do this via our annual Inclusive Health Conference, social events, peer support for LGBTQ medical students, and working with Faculty to improve LGBTQ curriculum content in the MD program.

For more updates follow us here:
Twitter: @uofaSGA

General Contact:

Executive Team:

President Derek Fehr
VP Internal Troy Mitchell
VP External Jordana Fersovich
VP Finance John Storwick
VP Secretary Sarah Kent
VP Social Engagement Isaiah MacDonald
VP Communcations Rebecca McCourt



Students for Antimicrobial Stewardship Society (SASS) - University of Alberta Chapter

Students for Antimicrobial Stewardship (SASS) is a nation-wide student-lead organization dedicated to promoting antimicrobial stewardship among future healthcare providers. The mission of SASS is to advocate for proper use of antibiotics through a multidisciplinary and collaborative approach to bring this important issue to light at our school, and to provide education, support, and representation for this issue among the healthcare providers of the future. Further, SASS works to raise awareness of this important issue and represent students advocating for antimicrobial stewardship on national and international platforms including industry, medical organizations, educational institutions, and government.


Leaders and Contact:

Avery Crocker
Tom Wang
Peter Yang

Social Media:
Instagram: SASS_CANADA



The Artery

The Artery is an annual publication which showcases the artistic and creative works of students from all four years of the Medicine and Dentistry programs at the University of Alberta. A large diversity of pieces and mediums are included in the collection, with both medical and non-medical themes. Some previous editions have included paintings, photography, poetry, chainmail, crochet animals, recipes, musical compositions, and more. The goal of this project is to provide students with an opportunity to share their creativity and the artistic passions. The final product is a coffee table book featuring a wide variety of topics and talent.

Leaders and Contact:

Aulora Oleynick
Irtiza Oyon
Julianna Zenke