Research Chairs

Endowed Research Chairs and Professorships

Endowed and other types of research chairs are an important mechanism to help facilitate and support the research activities of faculty members. The Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry is currently home to chairs in such areas as aboriginal health, cardiovascular disease and cancer. These research chairs are supported from a variety of sources, including private donations, the private sector, government, and not-for-profit organizations.

The current research chairs in the Faculty are outlined below. If you have any questions or would like additional information please contact:

Mark Taylor
Director of Research
Tel: 780-492-9720


  • Alberta Cancer Foundation Chair in Palliative Care
    Dr. Vickie Baracos – Department of Oncology
  • Alberta Dental Association & College Chair in Oral Health Translational Research
    Dr. Owen Addison – Department of Dentistry
  • Allard Research Chair in Experimental Oncology
    Dr. Jack Tuszynski – Department of Oncology
  • AstraZeneca Canada Chair in Asthma Research
  • Campus Alberta Innovates Program Chair in Prion Structural Biology 
    Dr. Michael Overduin - Department of Biochemistry
  • Capital Health Chair in Aboriginal Health
    Dr. Gita Sharma – Department of Medicine
  • Capital Health Chair in Cardiac Health Outcomes
    Dr. Finlay McAlister – Department of Medicine
  • Capital Health Chair in Cardiac Sciences
  • Capital Health Chair in Diagnostic Imaging
    Dr. Jacob Jaremko – Department of Radiology & Diagnostic Imaging
  • Capital Health Chair in Emergency Medicine Research
  • Capital Health Chair in Health Informatics
    Dr. Lawrence Richer - Department of Pediatrics
  • Capital Health Chair in Healthy Aging Research
    Dr. Adrian Wagg – Department of Medicine
  • Capital Health Chair in Mental Health Research
    Dr. Xin-Min Li – Department of Psychiatry
  • Capital Health Chair in Obesity
    Dr. Geoff Ball - Department of Pediatrics
  • Capital Health Chair in Primary Care Research
    Dr. Neil Drummond – Department of Family Medicine
  • Capital Health Chair in Surgical Simulation
    Dr. Bin Zheng – Department of Surgery
  • Capital Health Chair in Transplantation
    Dr. Norman Kneteman – Department of Surgery 
  • CASA Research Chair in Child and Adolescent Mental Health
  • Cavarzan Chair in Women’s Health Research
    Dr. Sue Ross – Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Chair in Patient Health Management
  • Dianne and Irving Kipnes Chair in Radiopharmaceutical Sciences
    Dr. Frank Wuest – Department of Oncology
  • Dr. Charles A. Allard Chair in Diabetes Research
    Dr. Peter Light – Department of Pharmacology
  • Firefighters Chair in Burn Research
    Dr. Ted Tredget – Department of Surgery
  • Frank and Carla Sojonky Chair in Prostate Cancer Research
    Dr. John Lewis – Department of Oncology
  • Friends of Garrett Cumming Research Chair/Muscular Dystrophy Canada Research Chair
    Dr. Toshifumi Yokota – Department of Medical Genetics
  • GlaxoSmithKline/RxD/CIHR Chair in Airway Inflammation
    Dr. Harissios Vliagoftis – Department of Medicine
  • Glaxo Wellcome Chair in Virology
    Dr. Lorne Tyrrell – Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation of Alberta, NWT & Nunavut Chair in Cardiovascular Research
    Dr. Harald Becher – Department of Medicine
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation of Alberta, NWT & Nunavut Professorship in Stroke Research
    Dr. Ken Butcher – Department of Medicine
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation/University of Alberta Professorship in Neonatal Resuscitation
    Dr. Georg Schmolzer - Department of Pediatrics
  • Henri M. Toupin Chair in Neurological Sciences
    Dr. Toshifumi Yokota - Department of Medical Genetics 
  • Henri M. Toupin Chair in Neurology
    Dr. Oksana Suchowersky – Department of Medicine
  • J. Alan Gilbert Chair in Medical Education Research
    Dr. Carol Hodgson - Division of Studies in Medical Education
  • Kidney Health Research Chair - Health Outcomes
    Dr. Scott Klarenbach - Department of Medicine/Division of Nephrology
  • Kidney Health Research Chair - Translational Research 
    Dr. Branko Braam - Department of Medicine/Division of Nephrology
  • Lilian McCullough Chair in Breast Cancer Surgery
    Dr. Judith Hugh – Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
  • Lois Hole Hospital Chair in Women's Health Research
    Dr. Radha Chari – Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Mary Johnston Chair in Melanoma Research
  • Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute Medical Imaging Consultants Research Chair
    Dr. Richard Coulden – Department of Radiology & Diagnostic Imaging
  • Mr. Lube Foundation Chair in Uro-Oncology
    Dr. Ronald Moore  – Department of Surgery
  • Muriel and Ada Hole Kids with Cancer Society Chair in Paediatric Oncology
    Dr. David Eisenstat – Department of Pediatrics
  • Muttart Research Chair in Clinical Immunology
    Dr. Philip Halloran - Department of Medicine 
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital Foundation Research Chair in Ophthalmology
    Dr. Karim Damji – Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
  • Sawin-Baldwin Chair in Ovarian Cancer & Dr. Anthony Noujaim Legacy Oncology Chair
    Dr. Lynne Postovit – Deparment of Oncology
  • Shriners Hospitals for Children Endowed Chair in Pediatric Scoliosis Research
    Dr. Fred Berry – Department of Surgery
  • Spinal Cord Injury Chair
    Dr. Chester Ho - Department of Medicine
  • Stollery Children’s Hospital Foundation Chair in Autism
    Dr. Lonnie Zwaigenbaum – Department of Pediatrics
  • Tom Williams Chair in Surgical Education
    Dr. Johnathan White – Department of Surgery
  • Tripartite Chair in Occupational Health 
    Dr. Nicola Cherry - Department of Medicine