2020 Education Awards Week

June 15, 2020

Dean Hemmelgarn, opening remarks

McCalla Professorship

The McCalla Professorships are named after Dr. Arthur Gilbert McCalla, first dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies at the University of Alberta, from 1957 to 1971. Dr. McCalla was a renowned agriculturalist, researcher and academic leader. The McCalla Professors are outstanding academics who have made (and continue to make) significant contributions to the integration of teaching and research, and educational leadership.

Presenter Dr.Vijay Daniels Department of Medicine

Recipient: Dr. Anna Oswald, Department of Medicine

Dr. Anna Oswald is an award-winning medical education leader. She graduated from the University of Alberta's medical school and completed an internal medicine residency at Dalhousie University, followed by rheumatology subspecialty training in Edmonton. After completing a year as a visiting research scholar at McGill's Centre for Medical Education, she obtained a master's degree in medical education at the University of Dundee. She joined the Division of Rheumatology in 2007.

June 16, 2020

Canadian Association of Medical Educators (CAME) Certificate of Merit

Presenter: Dr. Momoe Hyakutake, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Recipient: Dr. Andrew Scarfe, Department of Oncology

Dr. Andrew Scarfe is an oncologist / hematologist who works at Cross Cancer Institute, and is a highly respected clinical teacher of undergraduate medical students.

Recipient: Dr. Karen Forbes, Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Karen Forbes (BSc, MD, MEd, FRCPC) is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics and acting director of the Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine at the University of Alberta. She is the Pediatric Clerkship Director for the MD Program at the University of Alberta.

Recipient: Dr. Alan McMahon, Department of Medicine

Dr. McMahon is heavily involved in medical education at the undergraduate, post-graduate, and continuing professional learning levels. He is currently the course coordinator for DMED 514 (Cardio Pulmonary Renal) course, and assistant Program Director for the Nephrology Residency program.

June 17, 2020

Annual Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Presenter: Hanne Ostergaard, PhD
Associate Dean Research, Graduate Programs
Professor, Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology

Recipient: Daniel Graf, School of Dentistry - Tier II Basic Science

Recipient: Georg Schmolzer, Department of Pediatrics - Tier II Clinical Science

Recipient: Jason Acker, Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology - Tier I Basic Science

"I gain great inspiration from working with really smart, engaged and motivated students and colleagues. There is nothing more infectious than the energy that comes from interacting with a diverse team of people with broad experiences and knowledge that are collectively working together to solve hard problems," Acker said.

Learn more about his research and what drives him here.

June 18, 2020

E.N. Skakun Award for Service to Education

This award is named in honour of Dr. Ernest N. Skakun, a leader in psychometrics and medical education in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Alberta, whose achievements model the behaviours we seek to recognize in this award. The peer-adjudicated award celebrates the achievements of an individual who has made a major and long-term contribution to the educational leadership and scholarship in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry.

Congratulations to Dr. Sharon Compton, School of Dentistry, on this well-deserved recognition. Dr. Compton is the program director for the Master of Sciences in Medical Sciences (Dental Hygiene) program and director of the Educational Research & Scholarship Centre in the School of Dentistry. Mentoring has been a passion of hers since the very beginning of her career, and her contributions have made a significant impact on her students and colleagues.

David Cook Award

The David Cook Award is presented annually to a faculty member (or a group of members) of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry who has successfully planned and implemented a significant curricular innovation. This award is open to all levels of clinical academic colleagues and Faculty Service Officers and may be seen as a part of the pathway to national or international recognition.

Presenter: Dr. Ramona Kearney, associate dean of postgraduate medical education

Recipients: The Evidence-based Practice for Improving Quality (EPIQ) team

  • Dr. Elaine Yacyshyn, Department of Medicine
  • Dr. Rose Yeung, Department of Medicine
  • Shirley Auvigne, curriculum specialist, postgraduate medical education
  • Dr. Khalid Aziz, Department of Pediatrics
  • Pamela Mathura, Department of Medicine
  • Taniya Birbeck, director of administration for postgraduate medical education

PGME has offered the EPIQ workshop to residents and faculty since 2017. Learn how it helps improve quality of care below.

June 19, 2020

Dr. Richard Fedorak Memorial Award in Professionalism

The Richard Fedorak Memorial Award in Professionalism is awarded annually to a faculty clinician (a physician member of the academic staff, or a physician appointed as a Clinical Academic Colleague) who best exemplifies the attributes of the profession that physicians and learners aspire to emulate.Read more

Presenter: Dr. Karen Grimsrud, '78 MD

Recipient: Dr. Francesco Mosaico, '05 MD, Department of Family Medicine