Clubs and Interest Groups

2020/2021 MSA Clubs and Interest Groups

Clubs and Interest Groups are student-run organizations that bring together medical students with similar interests and ideas. With 76 groups this year, there's no shortage of options! These groups host a wide range of activities and events around student health and wellness, education, the arts, advocacy, and other areas of interest.

Events and engagement are tailored to students in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Check out our calendar to see a list of events, or you can request to join the email list of any of the clubs below. If you would like to become a member or find out more information about any specific Club or Interest Group, please email the group leader(s).

Have an idea for a club? New ideas are always welcome! Contact our VP Student Affairs, Ojas Srivastava, at msavpstudentaffairs@ualberta.ca for more information.

Clubs Policy

2020/2021 Clubs Guide

Group Name Leader(s) Contact More
Information
The Arts
Courtyard Choir

Nancy Liu

Julia Pearson

Patrick Fung

nxliu@ualberta.ca

pearson@ualberta.ca

phfung@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Fine Arts Club

Sean Borle

Jenny Li

scborle@ualberta.ca

jxl@ualberta.ca

Click Here
French in Practice

Devon Christoffel

ddchrist@ualberta.ca Click Here
Syncope Jazz Band

Daniel Finlaison

Ted Han

finlaiso@ualberta.ca

woohyun@ualberta.ca

Click Here
The Heart Chords (Med Orchestra)

Raven Yip

rjyip@ualberta.ca Click Here
Medical Specialties and Areas of Interest
Anatomy Club

Logan Richard

lr1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Anesthesia Club

Maggie Xiao

Kirill Lissovskiy

zixuan2@ualberta.ca

lissovsk@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Cardiology Club

Nikola Srnic

Sabrina Pattar

srnic@ualberta.ca

pattar@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Clinical Neurosciences Club

Nicole Farmer

Michael Zeeman

Alexandra Holmes

nfarmer@ualberta.ca

zeeman@ualberta.ca

amholmes@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Critical Care and Trauma Club

Xenia Cravetchi

Rachel Livergant

Dyanna Melo

cravetch@ualberta.ca

livergant@ualberta.ca

dyanna@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Dermatology Club

Maggie Xiao

Divya Jha

zixuan2@ualberta.ca

djha@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Emergency Medicine Club

Katie Gourlay

Andrew Lafreniere

Logan Richard

gourlay@ualberta.ca

la6@ualberta.ca

lr1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Endocrinology Club

Elena Spronk

espronk@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG)

Jocelyne Beelen

fmig@ualberta.ca

beelen@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Geriatrics Club

Lucy Harris

Trina Gartke

lharris1@ualberta.ca

tgartke@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Health System Policy & Management Club

Brittney Scott

Olha Lutsiv

bnscott@ualberta.ca

lutsiv@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Internal Medicine Club

Rees Kelly

Shuen Sung

Sabrina Pattar

rgkelly@ualberta.ca

ssung@ualberta.ca

pattar@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Lab Medicine and Pathology Club

Jonas Szelewicki

jszelewi@ualberta.ca Click Here
N60 Medicine Club

Elena Spronk

Rees Kelly

Geordon Omand

espronk@ualberta.ca

rgkelly@ualberta.ca

geordon@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Club

Sarah Almas

Samantha Brown

Lisa Wilcox

almas1@ualberta.ca

slbrown1@ualberta.ca

lcwilcox@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Oncology Club

Bruno Saleme

Amy Semaka

Natalie Gugala

bsaleme@ualberta.ca

asemaka@ualberta.ca

ngugala@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Orthopedic Surgery Club

Emma Bedard

Dasan Sydora

Moin Tinwala

bedard1@ualberta.ca

dsydora@ualberta.ca

tinwala@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Ophthalmology Club

Emma Hillier

Owen Sieben

ekhillie@ualberta.ca

osieben@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Otolaryngology Club

Owen Sieben

Jonathan Hampshire

osieben@ualberta.ca

jdhampsh@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Pediatrics Club

Nicole Farmer

Summer Kavan

Cassandra Walmsley

nfarmer@ualberta.ca

kavan@ualberta.ca

walmsley@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Physical Exam Practice Club

Elena Spronk

Jessica Zapata

espronk@ualberta.ca

jzapata@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Club

Joel Luk

Lindsay Amatto

jcluk@ualberta.ca

lamatto@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Interest Group

Justin Lee

Hasnaien Ahmed

Khadija Nasser

justinlee@ualberta.ca

hasnaien@ualberta.ca

knasser@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Psychiatry Club

Lawrence Ferguson

Muhammad Khan

Eileen Tu

lwfergus@ualberta.ca

mhkhan@ualberta.ca

edtu@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Public Health Interest Group

Jeenan Kaiser

Sharan Aulakh

jeenan@ualberta.ca

sharan@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Radiology Club

Mathew Gorman

Paul Greidanus

gorman@ualberta.ca

greidanus@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Respirology Club

Elena Spronk

espronk@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Rheumatology Club

Vinny Hans

Nicholas Fialka

vhans@ualberta.ca

nfialka@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Rural Medicine Interest Group

Kirill Lissovskiy

Logan Sept

Andre Schaub

lissovsk@ualberta.ca

sept@ualberta.ca

aschaub@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Space Medicine Club

Kai Fender

Preetha Gopalakrishnan

Morgan Gregg

kfender@ualberta.ca

gopalakr@ualberta.ca

gregg1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Sports Medicine Club

Markus Nielsen

Lindsay Amatto

Selina Demetrick

menielse@ualberta.ca

lamatto@ualberta.ca

demetric@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Surgery Club

Emma Bedard

Matt Krill

Mirza Ahmad

bedard1@ualberta.ca

krill@ualberta.ca

mirza@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Urology Club

Mark McAllister

Rebecca Hu

Noushin Miandashti

mam8@ualberta.ca

jingnan2@ualberta.ca

miandash@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Wilderness Medicine Club

Katie Gourlay

Geordon Omand

Michael Zeeman

gourlay@ualberta.ca

geordon@ualberta.ca

zeeman@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Games and Sports
Curling Club Quinn Andre

qandre@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Hockey Club

Matthew Krill

Andrew Kirk

krill@ualberta.ca

arkirk@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Med/Dent Tennis Club

Lance Taylor

ltaylor1@ualberta.ca

Click Here
MedFit

Karna Dhiravani

Hillary Wilson

Moin Tinwala

dhiravan@ualberta.ca

haw@ualberta.ca

tinwala@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Medical Students' Mountain Club

Emma Bédard

Maison Leitch

Quinn Andre

bedard1@ualberta.ca

mleitch@ualberta.ca

qandre@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Table Tennis Club

Vinny Hans

Nicholas Fialka

vhans@ualberta.ca

nfialka@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Soccer Club

Markus Nielsen

Daniel Ta

Chandu Sadasivan

menielse@ualberta.ca

dta@ualberta.ca

sadasiva@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Yoga Club Haley Jamison hjamison@ualberta.ca Click Here
Miscellaneous
Accessibility and Inclusivity in Medicine (AIM)

Surina Grover

Vienna Buchholz

surina@ualberta.ca

vbuchhol@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Christian Medical Dental Association (CMDA)

Jamie Grunwald

JoAnn Thai

Jaeho (Kevin) Hwang

grunwald@ualberta.ca

jjthai@ualberta.ca

khwang@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Interdisciplinary Health Club

Jonas Szelewicki

Hillary Wilson

jszelewi@ualberta.ca

haw@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Jewish Medical Student Association

Lisa Wilcox

Rachel Livergant

lcwilcox@ualberta.ca

livergan@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Medical Students for Choice

Preetha Gopalakrishnan

Kate Beggs

gopalakr@ualberta.ca

mkbeggs@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Muslim Medics for Health Justice

Muhammed Khan

Saba Riaz

Jeenan Kaiser

mhkhan@ualberta.ca

riaz3@ualberta.ca

jeenan@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Plant Based Nutrition Club

Cass Warbeck

M. Kate Beggs

cwarbeck@ualberta.ca

mkbeggs@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Research Interest Group

Katharine Jensen

Chandu Sadasivan

Daniel Ta

katharin@ualberta.ca

sadasiva@ualberta.ca

dta@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Stethoscode

Tony Fu

hfu3@ualberta.ca Click Here
Street Sense

Elena Spronk

Jonathan Lee

espronk@ualberta.ca

jglee@ualberta.ca

Click Here
Women in Medicine & Surgery

Sarah Almas

Kimberley Chong

Cassandra Walmsley

almas@ualberta.ca

kchong2@ualberta.ca

walmsley@ualberta.ca

Click Here