Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Graduate Students

Kara Abdolmaleki
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
abdolmal@ualberta.ca 
"The Return of the Repressed": Revolt against Post-coup Modernization of Iran in Literature and Film
Bashair Alibrahim
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
bashair@ualberta.ca
L'auto-traduction dans le monde arabe à travers l'espace et le temps/Self-translation in the Arab World through Space and Time
Anna Antonova
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
aantonov@ualberta.ca

Houssem Ben Lazreg
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
benlazre@ualberta.ca 
Translation In/From The Middle East: The Militarization of Language. Multiple Studies About The Representations of Conflict Through Translation
Sarah Brandvold
MA Comparative Literature
sbrandvo@ualberta.ca 
The Unikkaaqtuaq of Uinigumasuittuq as a Source of Law and Literary Theory
Brendan Cavanagh
MA German  
bcavanag@ualberta.ca
Friedrich Schiller and Kant
Guangfeng Chen
PhD French (ABD)
fchen@ualberta.ca 
China’s National Image Puzzle: The Construction of China’s Environmental Image in Le Monde
Derya Cinar
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
cinar@ualberta.ca

Stephen Cruikshank
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
scruiksh@ualberta.ca 
The Repeating Narrative: The Afrocubana and the Exotic Imaginary in Cuba
Richard Feddersen
PhD German
fedderse@ualberta.ca 
Identity Construction in German Language Textbooks
Nadya Foty
PhD Ukrainian Folklore (ABD)
nadya.foty@ualberta.ca 
Fieldwork: The Complex Dynamics of Meta-Ethnography
Jay Friesen
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
jayf@ualberta.ca 
Little Mosque, Big Ambitions: Considering Canadian Comedy as Anti-Racism
Bismarck Garcia
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
bismarck@ualberta.ca
 
Sergii Gorbachov
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures
gorbacho@ualberta.ca 
Oral human-machine interaction between a student (guest) and a computer (server) in restaurant discourse
Lily Gulcev
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
lgulcev@ualberta.ca 
 
Wangtaolue Guo
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
wangtaol@ualberta.ca
Pluralizing Camp Talk and Gay Identity: Translating Queer Writings from Taiwan and Hong Kong
Alexandra Guyot
MA Translation Studies
alexandra.guyot@ualberta.ca
Translating Mircea Eliade's "Ivan" from Romanian to English: a triangular approach using the French version

Ashley Halko-Addley
MA Media and Cultural Studies
halkoadd@ualberta.ca

 
Amelia Hall
MA Spanish and Latin American Studies
aahall@ualberta.ca 
Mapping Campeche: Spatiality and Decolonization of a Protected Colonial City
Hansy Herrera
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
hansy@ualberta.ca 
Narcoculture and its Implications on Body Representations
Jasmin Hirschberg
PhD German (ABD)
hirschbe@ualberta.ca 
Student-guided Grammar Instruction in the Foreign Language Classroom
Olena Hlazkova
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
hlazkova@ualberta.ca 
The Image of a Woman -- Migrant and Its Evaluation in Modern Ukrainian Literature
Anton Iorga
PhD Translation Studies
iorga@ualberta.ca 
Translating Grief: Diasporic Indigenous Hip-hop, Spoken Word Poetry, and Poetic Oral Literature as the Rebirth of Traditional Storytelling
Olga Ivanova
MA Media and Cultural Studies
oivanova@ualberta.ca 
 
Diana Ivanycheva
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
ivanyche@ualberta.ca 
 Art in Andrei Tarkovsky's Art Cinema
Dennis Kilfoy
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
kilfoy@ualberta.ca 
Where were you on the night...: Time and Space in Boris Akunin and Fyodor Dostoevsky
Mary Catherine Lawler
PhD German (ABD)
mlawler@ualberta.ca 
Intimedial Anxiety nach dem Mauerfall
Sylvia Madueke
PhD French (ABD)
imadueke@ualberta.ca 
Postcolonial Literature, Translation and Intercultural Communication: A Study of Fifty Years of Nigerian Literature in French Translation (1966-2015)
Asma M'Barek
PhD French (ABD)
mbarek@ualberta.ca 
Reconciling CEFR and Poetry in FSL Courses
Mansoureh Modarres
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
modarres@ualberta.ca 
Re-Imagining Herstory: A Transnational Study of Contemporary Women’s Writings
Shahin Moghaddasi Sarabi
PhD  (ABD)
smoghadd@ualberta.ca
Genre Analysis of Research Articles in Mathematics
Safaneh Mohaghegh Neyshabouri
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
safaneh@ualberta.ca 
Women and Political Change: A Study of Life-writing by Iranian and Iranian Diaspora Women Writers
Shanna Mumm
PhD French (ABD)
mumm@ualberta.ca 
Bringing Forth Senghor's Revolution of 1889: Awakening the Age of Intuition
Spencer Nelson
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
spencer1@ualberta.ca
 
Mimi Okabe
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
tokabe@ualberta.ca 
Narrating the Nation: The Evolution of the Boy Sleuth from Literature to Manga
Svitlana Panenko
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
panenko@ualberta.ca 
Towards Critical Realism: Marginality in Russian, Ukrainian and Belarusian Photography
Jérémie Pelletier-Gagnon
PhD Comparative Literature/Humanities Computing (ABD)
jrmie@ualberta.ca 
Website
Playing in Public: Game Design and Social Affordances in Japanese Arcades
Axel Pérez Trujillo
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
axel1@ualberta.ca 
The Wide and Silent Lands: The Environmental Imaginaries of the Plains in Latin American Literature
Jessica Pigeau
MA French
pigeau@ualberta.ca 
 
Daria Polianska
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
poliansk@ualberta.ca 
Representation of Psychic Trauma in Ukrainian Modernist Prose
Alexandra Popescu
MA Translation Studies
popescu2@ualberta.ca 
Self-Translation
Milane Pridmore-Franz
MA Translation Studies
mpridmor@ualberta.ca 
Study on the Audience Reception of Theatre Surtitles in a Minority Francophone Context in Western Canada
Jennifer Quist
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
jlquist@ualberta.ca
A Role for Translation in Creative Writing: Ethics, Pedagogy, and Art
Bart Romanek
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
bromanek@ualberta.ca
Divine Intervention: Old Norse Pagan Influence on Medieval Icelandic Hagiography
Sofia Sanchez
MA Applied Linguistics
slsanche@ualberta.ca 
Frequency and Type of Discourse Markers in Argumentative Writing Among University Learners of Spanish as a Foreign Language

Larisa Sembaliuk Cheladyn
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
cheladyn@ualberta.ca

Laughing at Ourselves: Visualizing Cultural Identity in Canadian Immigrant Comic Strips

Silvia Sgaramella
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sgaramel@ualberta.ca 
A Man Out of His Time: Cultural Influences in Maximus the Greek's Thought and Misfortunes
Shahnaz Shahtoosi
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
shahtoos@ualberta.ca 
Dubbing of English and French Films in the Iranian Context
Olena Sivachenko
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sivachen@ualberta.ca 
The Role of Podcasts in the Development of Pragmatic Competence in Ukrainian L2 Classrooms at the Post-Secondary Level
Sajad Soleymani Yazdi
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
ssoleyma@ualberta.ca
 
Jesus Toapanta
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
toapanta@ualberta.ca 
Language Learning Strategies: The Effects of Different Types of Strategy Instruction on Listening
Tu Tran
PhD Applied Linguistics
tttran1@ualberta.ca
Language Contact and Language Attitude
Héloïse Torck
MA Applied Linguistics
torck@ualberta.ca
 
Laura Velazquez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
lauralet@ualberta.ca
 
Mingxing Wang
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
mingxing@ualberta.ca 
Translation as a Productive Cultural Space: Gao Xingjian in Translation
Pengfei Wang
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
pw1@ualberta.ca 
The Chinese Baroque Poetry and the Metaphysical Poetry: A Comparison
Yan Wang
PhD Comparative Literature
yan15@ualberta.ca 
Transgressing Chinese Masculinities: Homoeroticism, Transgenderism and Cross-Dressing in Chinese Martial Arts Fiction and Film
Haiyan Xie
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
hxie2@ualberta.ca 
Narrating China: Yan Lianke's Humanistic Concerns and the Politics of his Mythorealism
Lina Ye
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
lye3@ualberta.ca 
The Phenomenon of Bestsellers in Orthodox Christianity in Contemporary Russia