Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Graduate Students

NAME LANGUAGES RESEARCH AREA 
Bashair Alibrahim
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
bashair@ualberta.ca
Arabic, French L'auto-traduction dans le monde arabe à travers l'espace et le temps/Self-translation in the Arab World through Space and Time
Anna Antonova
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
aantonov@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian, German
Jordan Ashworth
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
jashwort@ualberta.ca
   
Houssem Ben Lazreg
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
benlazre@ualberta.ca 
Arabic, French Translation In/From The Middle East: The Militarization of Language. Multiple Studies About The Representations of Conflict Through Translation
Valentina Benvenuti
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
vbenvenu@ualberta.ca
Italian, French  
Malou Brouwer
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
malou@ualberta.ca
Dutch, French  
Lenny Massiel Cauich Maldonado
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
cauichma@ualberta.ca
Spanish  Political cartoons as counternarratives
Maryna Chernyavska
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
chernyav@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian, Russian  
Kaitlyn Chomitzky
MA (course) Media and Cultural Studies
chomitzk@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian  
Derya Cinar
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
cinar@ualberta.ca
Turkish
Richard Feddersen
PhD German (ABD)
fedderse@ualberta.ca 
German Meet the Germans? How L2 German Learners Understand and Construct German Identity
Jay Friesen
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
jayf@ualberta.ca 
  Little Mosque, Big Ambitions: Considering Canadian Comedy as Anti-Racism
Treesa Friesen
MA (course) Media and Cultural Studies
treesa@ualberta.ca

 
Jonathan Garfinkel
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
garfinke@ualberta.ca

 
Kenzie Gordon
PhD Media and Cultural Studies & Digital Humanities
mlgordon@ualberta.ca
Spanish, French Depictions and interpretations of gender-based violence in video games
Cristian Guerra
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
cguerra@ualberta.ca
Spanish  
Lily Gulcev
PhD Media and Cultural Studies (ABD)
lgulcev@ualberta.ca 
Macedonian  
Wangtaolue Guo
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
wangtaol@ualberta.ca
Mandarin, Cantonese Young Birds on the Wing: Translating/Transacting Queer Literature During the "Gay Boom" in Taiwan
Hansy Herrera
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
hansy@ualberta.ca 
Spanish Narcoculture and its Implications on Body Representations
Jasmin Hirschberg
PhD German (ABD)
hirschbe@ualberta.ca 
German Student-guided Grammar Instruction in the Foreign Language Classroom
Olena Hlazkova
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
hlazkova@ualberta.ca 
Ukrainian The Image of a Woman -- Migrant and Its Evaluation in Modern Ukrainian Literature
Anton Iorga
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
iorga@ualberta.ca 
French, Spanish Translating Grief: Diasporic Indigenous Hip-hop, Spoken Word Poetry, and Poetic Oral Literature as the Rebirth of Traditional Storytelling
Diana Ivanycheva
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
ivanyche@ualberta.ca 
Russian  Art in Andrei Tarkovsky's Art Cinema
Mary Catherine Lawler
PhD German (ABD)
mlawler@ualberta.ca 
German Anxious Affects
Asma M'Barek
PhD French (ABD)
mbarek@ualberta.ca 
French Reconciling CEFR and Poetry in FSL Courses
Heather McCallum
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
hmccallu@ualberta.ca

 
Shahin Moghaddasi Sarabi
PhD Applied Linguistics  (ABD)
smoghadd@ualberta.ca
Turkish Genre Analysis of Research Articles in Mathematics
Safaneh Mohaghegh Neyshabouri
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
safaneh@ualberta.ca 
Farsi Women and Political Change: A Study of Life-writing by Iranian and Iranian Diaspora Women Writers
Sofia Monzon Rodriguez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
monzonro@ualberta.ca
Spanish Censorships in Dialogue: Translating the Subversive in Spain and Argentina (60-70s)
Peter Morley
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
pmorley@ualberta.ca
German  
Shahab Nadimi
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
nadimi@ualberta.ca
Kurdish, Farsi  
Megan Perram
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
mperram@ualberta.ca
Coding The feminine salvation: a phenomenological approach to understanding the diseasing of deviant femininity through the pathography of individuals with hyperandrogenism
Amber Peters
MA Media and Cultural Studies
apeters1@ualberta.ca

 
Jessica Pigeau
MA French
pigeau@ualberta.ca 
French  
Daria Polianska
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
poliansk@ualberta.ca 
Ukrainian Representation of Psychic Trauma in Ukrainian Modernist Prose
Jennifer Quist
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
jlquist@ualberta.ca
Mandarin Toward a Translingual "Way" Through Creative Writing Instruction
Saman Rezaei
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
srezaei@ualberta.ca
Farsi  
Bart Romanek
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
bromanek@ualberta.ca
Polish, Latin, Old Norse Divine Intervention: Old Norse Pagan Influence on Medieval Icelandic Hagiography
Glenna Schowalter
MA Media and Cultural Studies
schowalt@ualberta.ca
German  

Larisa Sembaliuk Cheladyn
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
cheladyn@ualberta.ca

Ukrainian

Laughing at Ourselves: Visualizing Cultural Identity in Canadian Immigrant Comic Strips

Silvia Sgaramella
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sgaramel@ualberta.ca 
Italian A Man Out of His Time: Cultural Influences in Maximus the Greek's Thought and Misfortunes
Shahnaz Shahtoosi
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
shahtoos@ualberta.ca 
Farsi Dubbing of English and French Films in the Iranian Context
Olena Sivachenko
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sivachen@ualberta.ca 
Ukrainian The Role of Podcasts in the Development of Pragmatic Competence in Ukrainian L2 Classrooms at the Post-Secondary Level
Kerry Sluchinski
PhD Applied Linguistics
ksluchin@ualberta.ca
Mandarin,
Japanese,
Korean
Tongzhi: The Genderless Comrade and Third Person Pronoun ta in Chinese Social Media
Bruno Soares dos Santos
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
brunosoares@ualberta.ca
Portuguese, Spanish  
Sajad Soleymani Yazdi
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
ssoleyma@ualberta.ca
Farsi Mysticisms in Modernisms from Walter Benjamin to Ali Shariati
Lindsay Sorell
MA Media and Cultural Studies
sorell@ualberta.ca
   
Dominika Tabor
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
tabor@ualberta.ca
Polish Differences in Perception of Immigration Travel Between Children and Adults in Canadian Children’s Literature
Tu Tran
PhD Applied Linguistics (ABD)
tttran1@ualberta.ca
Vietnamese Language ideologies and cultural identities in the linguistic landscape
Laura Velazquez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
lauralet@ualberta.ca
Spanish, Mandarin Hispanic and Sinophone literatures and films of migration
Mingxing Wang
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
mingxing@ualberta.ca 
Mandarin, French Translation as a Productive Cultural Space: Gao Xingjian in Translation
Xiaoyun Wang
PhD Applied Linguistics
xiaoyun@ualberta.ca
Mandarin Interactional Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, and Multimodal Analysis
Yan Wang
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
yan15@ualberta.ca 
Mandarin Transgressing Chinese Masculinities: Homoeroticism, Transgenderism and Cross-Dressing in Chinese Martial Arts Fiction and Film
Jobey Wills
MA (course) Transnational and Comparative Literatures
jobey.wills@ualberta.ca
Spanish, Portuguese  
Haiyan Xie
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
hxie2@ualberta.ca 
Mandarin Narrating China: Yan Lianke's Humanistic Concerns and the Politics of his Mythorealism