Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Graduate Students

Bashair Alibrahim
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
bashair@ualberta.ca
L'auto-traduction dans le monde arabe à travers l'espace et le temps/Self-translation in the Arab World through Space and Time
Nura Almohaimeed
MA (course) Applied Linguistics
almohaim@ualberta.ca
 
Anna Antonova
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
aantonov@ualberta.ca

Houssem Ben Lazreg
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
benlazre@ualberta.ca 
Translation In/From The Middle East: The Militarization of Language. Multiple Studies About The Representations of Conflict Through Translation
Valentina Benvenuti
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
vbenvenu@ualberta.ca
 
Lenny Cauich Maldonado
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
cauichma@ualberta.ca
 
Derya Cinar
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
cinar@ualberta.ca

Richard Feddersen
PhD German
fedderse@ualberta.ca 
Meet the Germans? How L2 German Learners Understand and Construct German Identity
Jay Friesen
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
jayf@ualberta.ca 
Little Mosque, Big Ambitions: Considering Canadian Comedy as Anti-Racism
Jonathan Garfinkel
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
garfinke@ualberta.ca
 
Kenzie Gordon
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
mlgordon@ualberta.ca
Depictions and interpretations of gender-based violence in video games
Lily Gulcev
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
lgulcev@ualberta.ca 
 
Wangtaolue Guo
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
wangtaol@ualberta.ca
Gayspeak and Gaytranslate: Verbal Camp in Taiwanese Queer Fiction (1983-2015)

Ashley Halko-Addley
MA Media and Cultural Studies
halkoadd@ualberta.ca

 
Hansy Herrera
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
hansy@ualberta.ca 
Narcoculture and its Implications on Body Representations
Jasmin Hirschberg
PhD German (ABD)
hirschbe@ualberta.ca 
Student-guided Grammar Instruction in the Foreign Language Classroom
Olena Hlazkova
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
hlazkova@ualberta.ca 
The Image of a Woman -- Migrant and Its Evaluation in Modern Ukrainian Literature
Anton Iorga
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
iorga@ualberta.ca 
Translating Grief: Diasporic Indigenous Hip-hop, Spoken Word Poetry, and Poetic Oral Literature as the Rebirth of Traditional Storytelling
Diana Ivanycheva
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
ivanyche@ualberta.ca 
 Art in Andrei Tarkovsky's Art Cinema
Dennis Kilfoy
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
kilfoy@ualberta.ca 
Where were you on the night...: Time and Space in Boris Akunin and Fyodor Dostoevsky
Mary Catherine Lawler
PhD German (ABD)
mlawler@ualberta.ca 
Anxious A/Effects: German Intimmedia nach dem Mauerfall
Sylvia Madueke
PhD French (ABD)
imadueke@ualberta.ca 
Postcolonial Literature, Translation and Intercultural Communication: A Study of Fifty Years of Nigerian Literature in French Translation (1966-2015)
Asma M'Barek
PhD French (ABD)
mbarek@ualberta.ca 
Reconciling CEFR and Poetry in FSL Courses
Heather McCallum
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
hmccallu@ualberta.ca
 
Mansoureh Modarres
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
modarres@ualberta.ca 
Re-Imagining Herstory: A Transnational Study of Contemporary Women’s Writings
Shahin Moghaddasi Sarabi
PhD  (ABD)
smoghadd@ualberta.ca
Genre Analysis of Research Articles in Mathematics
Safaneh Mohaghegh Neyshabouri
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
safaneh@ualberta.ca 
Women and Political Change: A Study of Life-writing by Iranian and Iranian Diaspora Women Writers
Sofia Monzon Rodriguez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
monzonro@ualberta.ca
 
Peter Morley
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
pmorley@ualberta.ca
 
Shanna Mumm
PhD French (ABD)
mumm@ualberta.ca 
Bringing Forth Senghor's Revolution of 1889: Awakening the Age of Intuition
Mimi Okabe
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
tokabe@ualberta.ca 
Narrating the Nation: The Evolution of the Boy Sleuth from Literature to Manga
Jérémie Pelletier-Gagnon
PhD Comparative Literature/Humanities Computing (ABD)
jrmie@ualberta.ca 
Website
Playing in Public: Game Design and Social Affordances in Japanese Arcades
Megan Perram
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
mperram@ualberta.ca
The feminine salvation: a phenomenological approach to understanding the diseasing of deviant femininity through the pathography of individuals with hyperandrogenism
Amber Peters
MA Media and Cultural Studies
apeters1@ualberta.ca
 
Jessica Pigeau
MA French
pigeau@ualberta.ca 
 
Daria Polianska
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
poliansk@ualberta.ca 
Representation of Psychic Trauma in Ukrainian Modernist Prose
Jennifer Quist
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
jlquist@ualberta.ca
A Role for Translation in Creative Writing: Ethics, Pedagogy, and Art
Saman Rezaei
PhD Applied Linguistics
srezaei@ualberta.ca
Critical Analysis of Media Outlets Discourse on Coverage of the Middle East Events from 2014 to 2017
Bart Romanek
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
bromanek@ualberta.ca
Divine Intervention: Old Norse Pagan Influence on Medieval Icelandic Hagiography
Sofia Sanchez
MA Applied Linguistics
slsanche@ualberta.ca 
Frequency and Type of Discourse Markers in Argumentative Writing Among University Learners of Spanish as a Foreign Language
Glenna Schowalter
MA Media and Cultural Studies
schowalt@ualberta.ca
 

Larisa Sembaliuk Cheladyn
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
cheladyn@ualberta.ca

Laughing at Ourselves: Visualizing Cultural Identity in Canadian Immigrant Comic Strips

Silvia Sgaramella
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sgaramel@ualberta.ca 
A Man Out of His Time: Cultural Influences in Maximus the Greek's Thought and Misfortunes
Shahnaz Shahtoosi
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
shahtoos@ualberta.ca 
Dubbing of English and French Films in the Iranian Context
Olena Sivachenko
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sivachen@ualberta.ca 
The Role of Podcasts in the Development of Pragmatic Competence in Ukrainian L2 Classrooms at the Post-Secondary Level
Kerry Sluchinski
PhD Applied Linguistics
ksluchin@ualberta.ca
The ta Phenomenon in Chinese Social Media: A Continuation of the Pragmatic, Textual, Semantic, and Syntactic Analysis of ta in Chinese Computer Mediated Discourse.
Bruno Soares dos Santos
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
brunosoares@ualberta.ca
 
Sajad Soleymani Yazdi
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
ssoleyma@ualberta.ca
 
Lindsay Sorell
MA Media and Cultural Studies
sorell@ualberta.ca
 
Jesus Toapanta
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
toapanta@ualberta.ca 
Language Learning Strategies: The Effects of Different Types of Strategy Instruction on Listening
Héloïse Torck
MA (course) Applied Linguistics
torck@ualberta.ca
 
Tu Tran
PhD Applied Linguistics
tttran1@ualberta.ca
Language Contact and Language Attitude
Laura Velazquez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
lauralet@ualberta.ca
Hispanic and Sinophone literatures and films of migration
Mingxing Wang
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
mingxing@ualberta.ca 
Translation as a Productive Cultural Space: Gao Xingjian in Translation
Xiaoyun Wang
PhD Applied Linguistics
xiaoyun@ualberta.ca
 
Yan Wang
PhD Comparative Literature
yan15@ualberta.ca 
Transgressing Chinese Masculinities: Homoeroticism, Transgenderism and Cross-Dressing in Chinese Martial Arts Fiction and Film
Jobey Wills
MA (course) Transnational and Comparative Literatures
jobey.wills@ualberta.ca
 
Haiyan Xie
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
hxie2@ualberta.ca 
Narrating China: Yan Lianke's Humanistic Concerns and the Politics of his Mythorealism