Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Graduate Students

Kara Abdolmaleki
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
abdolmal@ualberta.ca 
"The Return of the Repressed": Revolt against Post-coup Modernization of Iran in Literature and Film
Sumaya Al Jamily
MA Comparative Literature
aljamily@ualberta.ca

Rasoul Aliakbari
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
rasoul@ualberta.ca
Website
Trans-national Critical Print Culture of the Arabian Nights and a Revisionist Historiography of the Modernist Nation-State
Bashair Alibrahim
PhD Translation Studies
bashair@ualberta.ca
 L'auto-traduction dans le monde arabe à travers l'espace et le temps/Self-translation in the Arab World through Space and Time
Anna Antonova
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
aantonov@ualberta.ca

Houssem Ben Lazreg
PhD Translation Studies
benlazre@ualberta.ca 
 The Arab Spring: the translator as an agent of political/social change
Jennifer Boivin
PhD (ABD)
jboivin@ualberta.ca 
 Body and Movement: Russian émigré Animation in France and Soviet Animation
Sarah Brandvold
MA Comparative Literature
sbrandvo@ualberta.ca 
 A comparative study of the depiction of violence in the traditional Inuit stories of Sedna, Atanarjuat, and Kiviuq
Brendan Cavanagh
MA German  
bcavanag@ualberta.ca
Friedrich Schiller and Kant
Guangfeng Chen
PhD French (ABD)
fchen@ualberta.ca 
 Ideological Construction of China's Image in Discourses on "Global Climate Change" in the Western Media and the Chinese Media
Derya Cinar
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
cinar@ualberta.ca

Stephen Cruikshank
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
scruiksh@ualberta.ca 

 Aestheticizing the Jinetera: Sex-Tourism and Prostitution in the Cuban Arts


Elli Dehnavi
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
elahe@ualberta.ca 
 Screened Voices: A Critical Study of Body, Gender, and Sexuality in Iranian and Afghan Cinema
Richard Feddersen
PhD German
fedderse@ualberta.ca 
 Identity Construction in German Language Textbooks
Nadya Foty
PhD Ukrainian Folklore (ABD)
nadya.foty@ualberta.ca 
 Fieldwork: The Complex Dynamics of Meta-Ethnography
Jay Friesen
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
jayf@ualberta.ca 
 Little Mosque, Big Ambitions: Considering Canadian Comedy as Anti-Racism
Sergii Gorbachov
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures
gorbacho@ualberta.ca 
 Oral human-machine interaction between a student (guest) and a computer (server) in restaurant discourse
Lily Gulcev
MA
lgulcev@ualberta.ca 
 From Snake Husbands to Flower Boy Jerks: Beasts to Dread, Bed, and Wed in Popular Media
Amelia Hall
MA Spanish and Latin American Studies
aahall@ualberta.ca 
 Mapping Campeche: Spatiality and Decolonization of a Protected Colonial City
Hansy Herrera
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies
hansy@ualberta.ca 
 Narcoculture and its Implications on Body Representations
Jasmin Hirschberg
PhD German (ABD)
hirschbe@ualberta.ca 
 Student-guided Grammar Instruction in the Foreign Language Classroom
Olena Hlazkova
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
hlazkova@ualberta.ca 
 The Image of a Woman -- Migrant and Its Evaluation in Modern Ukrainian Literature
Jessica Holtby
MA Translation Studies
jlholtby@ualberta.ca
Self-translation of Songs: Issues of Equivalence, Faithfulness, and Translatability 
Anton Iorga
PhD Translation Studies
iorga@ualberta.ca 
 Translating Grief: Diasporic Indigenous Hip-hop, Spoken Word Poetry, and Poetic Oral Literature as the Rebirth of Traditional Storytelling
Olga Ivanova
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
oivanova@ualberta.ca 
 Negotiating National Identity in Dubbed Film Humour: The Case of Québec and Ukraine
Diana Ivanycheva
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
ivanyche@ualberta.ca 
 Art in Andrei Tarkovsky's Art Cinema
Amir Khadem
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
seyyedam@ualberta.ca 
 Endemic Pains and Pandemic Traumas: On the Literary Construction of Collective Memory
Dennis Kilfoy
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
kilfoy@ualberta.ca 
 Where were you on the night...: Time and Space in Boris Akunin and Fyodor Dostoevsky
Mary Catherine Lawler
PhD German (ABD)
mlawler@ualberta.ca 
 The Paper Bag: Anxiety and its A/Effects in Contemporary German Intermedia
Loriann Lockhart
MA German
loriannl@ualberta.ca 
 An analytical approach to translation of the writings of female minority groups in Germany and Austria
Jeffrey Longard
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
jlongard@ualberta.ca
 The Endurance of Language: Overcoming Power Structures in French Intra-lingual Translation
Ana Magalhaes
MA Comparative Literature
amagalha@ualberta.ca
 
Sylvia Madueke
PhD French (ABD)
imadueke@ualberta.ca 
 Postcolonial Literature, Translation and Intercultural Communication: A Study of Fifty Years of Nigerian Literature in French Translation (1966-2015)
Asma M'Barek
PhD French
mbarek@ualberta.ca 
 Reconciling CEFR and Poetry in FSL Courses
Mansoureh Modarres
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
modarres@ualberta.ca 
Re-imagining Female Subjectivity through Narratives: A Transnational Study of Contemporary Women's Writings in Persian and English
Shahin Moghaddasi Sarabi
PhD  (ABD)
smoghadd@ualberta.ca
 Genre Analysis of Research Articles in Mathematics
Safaneh Mohaghegh Neyshabouri
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
safaneh@ualberta.ca 
 Women and Political Change: A Study of Life-writing by Iranian and Iranian Diaspora Women Writers
Shanna Mumm
PhD French (ABD)
mumm@ualberta.ca 
 Bringing Forth Senghor's Revolution of 1889: Awakening the Age of Intuition
Mimi Okabe
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
tokabe@ualberta.ca 
 Narrating Nation: A Cross Cultural Exploration of the Child Detective in Japanese Manga and Western Children's Detective Fiction
Svitlana Panenko
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
panenko@ualberta.ca 
 Taboo Subjects in Post-Soviet Photography and Film
Jérémie Pelletier-Gagnon
PhD Comparative Literature/Humanities Computing (ABD)
jrmie@ualberta.ca 
Website
 Playing in Public: Game Design and Social Affordances in Japanese Arcades
Axel Perez
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
axel1@ualberta.ca 
 The Wide and Silent Land: A Geocritical Approach to Latin American Literature and the Plains
Jessica Pigeau
MA French
pigeau@ualberta.ca 
 
Daria Polianska
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
poliansk@ualberta.ca 
 Textual Performances of Gender in Ukrainian Modernist Prose
Alexandra Popescu
MA Translation Studies
popescu2@ualberta.ca 
 Self-Translation
Milane Pridmore-Franz
MA Translation Studies
mpridmor@ualberta.ca 
 Study on the Audience Reception of Theatre Surtitles in a Minority Francophone Context in Western Canada
Jennifer Quist
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
jlquist@ualberta.ca
 
Leanne Rempel
MA Spanish and Latin American Studies
lrempel@ualberta.ca 
 Latin American Narconarratives
Sofia Sanchez
MA Applied Linguistics
slsanche@ualberta.ca 
Frequency and Type of Discourse Markers in Argumentative Writing Among University Learners of Spanish as a Foreign Language
Silvia Sgaramella
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sgaramel@ualberta.ca 
 A Man Out of His Time: Cultural Influences in Maximus the Greek's Thought and Misfortunes
Shahnaz Shahtoosi
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
shahtoos@ualberta.ca 
 Dubbing of English and French Films in the Iranian Context
Olena Sivachenko
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sivachen@ualberta.ca 
 The Role of Podcasts in the Development of Pragmatic Competence in Ukrainian L2 Classrooms at the Post-Secondary Level
Maja Staka
MA French
staka@ualberta.ca 
 The Myth of the Refugee in Canadian Media
Jesus Toapanta
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
toapanta@ualberta.ca 
 Language Learning Strategies: The Effects of Different Types of Strategy Instruction on Listening
Regan Treewater
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
treewate@ualberta.ca 
 The Russian-Jewish Immigration Literature: Cultural Identity Constructions in the Diaspora
Mingxing Wang
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
mingxing@ualberta.ca 
 Translation as a Productive Cultural Space: Gao Xingjian in Translation
Pengfei Wang
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
pw1@ualberta.ca 
 
Yan Wang
PhD Comparative Literature
yan15@ualberta.ca 
 A psychoanalytic approach to examine Chinese xia culture in various literary forms
Haiyan Xie
PhD Comparative Literature
hxie2@ualberta.ca 
 Lu Xun's Translation and the Construction of Modernity During the May Fourth Period
Lina Ye
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
lye3@ualberta.ca 
 The Phenomenon of Bestsellers in Orthodox Christianity in Contemporary Russia