Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Professors Emeriti

Edward Blodgett (†)
Professor Emeritus
Canadian and medieval literature.
Christopher Hale
Professor Emeritus
chale@ualberta.ca
Norse Mythology

Professor Emerita
marianne.henn@ualberta.ca

Specialization - Age of Goethe. Women Writers of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century. German Folk and Fairy Tales. Historiography in German Prose and Drama. Biographies of German Women Writers.
Oleh Ilnytzkyj
Professor Emeritus
oleh.ilnytzkyj@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian Literature, Language & Culture.
Uri Margolin
Professor Emeritus
uri.margolin@ualberta.ca
Comparative Literature.
Edward Mozejko
Professor Emeritus
emozejko@ualberta.ca
Comparative Literature and Slavic Studies.

Andriy Nahachewsky
Professor Emeritus
andriyn@ualberta.ca

Folklore; Ukrainian Culture; Dance; Material Culture.
Natalia Pylypiuk
Professor
natalia.pylypiuk@ualberta.ca 
Medieval and Early-Modern Ukrainian Culture; Diaspora and Dissent; Literature Today; Childrens' Literature; Ukrainian Language.

Claudine Potvin
Professor Emerita
claudine.potvin@ualberta.ca
Curriculum Vitae

Specialization - Québec and Latin American Contemporary Studies; Women’s Studies / Women’s Writing (Gender & Feminist Theory, Feminist Utopias); Visual Arts and Literature.

Tom Priestly
Professor Emeritus
tom.priestly@ualberta.ca
Specialization – Description of the Slovene dialect of the village of Sele (Zell), Carinthia, Austria. Problems of retention and loss of minority languages, especially in Austria: historical, educational, sociolinguistic and psycholinguistic aspects. Translation of Slovene literature, particularly poetry, into English.

Manfred Prokop
Professor Emeritus
mprokop@ualberta.ca

Applied German linguistics, second language acquisition, second language teaching.

Robert Thornberry (†)
Professor Emeritus
French Literature of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Massimo Verdicchio
Professor Emeritus
Dante and Petrarch, Theory of the Novel and the Anti-novel.
Raleigh Whitinger
Professor Emeritus
rwhiting@ualberta.ca

Specialization - Modern German literature since the Age of Goethe, Romanticism, naturalism, women’s writing, film and literature, senior language courses, translation German-English.

Recent publication:Translation and Translating in German Studies

Richard Young
Professor Emeritus
richard.young@ualberta.ca
Specialization - Contemporary fiction in Latin America seen through the prisms of narrative structure, Postmodernism and Cultural Studies, popular music and Urban Studies. Since retirement in 2004: return to a dormant interest in naval history through study of representations of the Battle of Trafalgar (21 October, 1805) in painting and popular fiction in England, France, and Spain.