Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Modern Languages and Cultural Studies is excited to be working towards a new single major (launching Fall 2019). Emphasizing skill building, experiential learning and breadth, this program will serve to give students a strong theoretical foundation steeped in languages, comparative and cultural studies.

Undergraduate Program Information

Modern Languages and Cultural Studies is excited to be working towards a new single major (launching Fall 2019). Emphasizing skill building, experiential learning and breadth, this program will serve to give students a strong theoretical foundation steeped in languages, comparative and cultural studies.

Are you a member of the community interested in taking a course?

If you're a non-U of A student looking to take a class for professional development, upgrading, or general interest, you will need to apply for Open Studies. Please be aware that application deadlines may differ from course registration deadlines. For more information about Open Studies and how to apply, visit the Undergraduate Admissions & Programs website. Before initiating an application, please speak with our Undergraduate Advisor to ensure this course is right for you. We welcome you in our classes!

Undergraduate general questions and program advice can be directed to mlcs@ualberta.ca or contact the appropriate Academic Advisor listed below.

July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020

Honours Mentor
Dr. Sathya Rao
Email: sathya.rao@ualberta.ca / Office: Arts 217-B

Comparative Literature
Dr. Irene Sywenky
Email: irene.sywenky@ualberta.ca / Office: Arts 217-A

French
Dr. Daniel Laforest
Email: frenchadvisor@ualberta.ca / Office: Arts 409-B

German
Dr. Carrie Smith
Email: carrie.smith@ualberta.ca / Office: Arts 200-A (by appointment only)

Italian
Dr. William Anselmi
Email: wanselmi@ualberta.ca / Office: HC 3-69

Norwegian, Scandinavian, & Swedish
Dr. Natalie Van Deusen
Email: vandeuse@ualberta.ca / Office: Arts 316-D

Slavic (Polish, Russian, Ukrainian)
Dr. Alla Nedashkivska
Email: alla.nedashkivska@ualberta.ca / Office Arts 316-C

Spanish & Latin American Studies
Dr. Yvonne Lam
Email: yvonne.lam@ualberta.ca / Office: Arts 218-E