Mountain Research and Initiatives

Faculty & Staff

Across faculties at the University of Alberta, people are united with a great and common passion: mountains. Get to know some of the people driving our mountain research and initiatives through their research interests and areas of expertise.


Agriculture, Life, and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Naomi Krogman, Associate Professor, Rural Economy
naomi.krogman@ualberta.ca

  • Social impacts of natural resource extraction and environmental policy on mountain communities

Anthropology

Dr. Heather Young Leslie, Adjunct Professor, Anthropology
heather.youngleslie@ualberta.ca

  • Ecography; medical anthropology in mountain environments; gender and health

Dr. Mark Nuttall, Professor and Tory Chair, Anthropology
mark.nuttall@ualberta.ca

  • Circumpolar North; environmental change

Dr. Andie Palmer, Associate Professor, Anthropology
andie.palmer@ualberta.ca

  • Ethnography; oral history; First Nations

Biological Sciences

Dr. David Hik, Professor, Biological Sciences
david.hik@ualberta.ca

  • Plant-herbivore-climate interactions in alpine and tundra ecosystems

Dr. Jessamyn Manson, Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
jessamyn@ualberta.ca

  • Evolutionary ecology of plant-pollination interactions

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Leonidas Perez Estrada, Assistant Professor, Civil and Environment Engineering
leonidas.perez@ualberta.ca

  • Study of hydroxyl radicals in water and ice
  • Photocatalytic activity in glacial clay minerals
  • High pressure oxidation processes
  • Photochemical degradation of organic compounds in the environment
  • Analysis and characterization of emerging pollutants

Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Dr. Andy Bush, Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
andrew.bush@ualberta.ca

  • Glaciers and climate change; Himalayan hydrology, Siachen glacier region

Dr. Jeff Kavanaugh, Associate Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
jeff.kavanaugh@ualberta.ca

  • Glacier movement, glacier response to climate change

Dr. Martin Sharp, Chair and Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
martin.sharp@ualberta.ca

  • Glacier-climate interactions and ice dynamics
  • Glacier change in Arctic Canada
  • Glacier Biology and Biogeochemistry
  • Behaviour of contaminants in glacial systems
  • Geological record of saline ice shelves

English and Film Studies

Dr. Ted Bishop, Professor, English and Film Studies
edward.bishop@ualberta.ca

  • Professional travel writing and non-fiction writing

Dr. Dianne Chisholm, Professor, English and Film Studies
dianne.chisholm@ualberta.ca

  • Mountain and mountaineering literature and culture

Dr. Sarah Krotz, Assistant Professor, English and Film Studies
sarah.krotz@ualberta.ca

  • Literary cartography, place, space, natural history

Dr. Julie Rak, Professor, English and Film Studies
julie.rak@ualberta.ca

  • Mountaineering literature, mountaineering cultures in relation to gender, autobiography, cultural studies

Dr. Stephen Slemon, Professor, English and Film Studies
stephen.slemon@ualberta.ca

  • Mountaineering literature and culture

Dr. Thomas Wharton, Associate Professor, English and Film Studies
thomas.wharton@ualberta.ca

  • Canadian mountain history, art and literature; mountain stories & legends; glaciers and climate change

History and Classics

Dr. Joseph Patrouch, Professor, History and Classics; Director, Wirth Institute of Austrian and Central European Studies
joseph.patrouch@ualberta.ca

  • Early modern central Europe

Dr. Liza Piper, Associate Professor, History & Classics
liza.piper@ualberta.ca

  • Environmental history, Northern and Western Canada

Dr. Colleen Skidmore, Professor, History & Classics
colleen.skidmore@ualberta.ca

  • Women in the Rocky Mountains; mountains and photography

Physical Education and Recreation

Dr. Karen Fox, Professor, Physical Education and Recreation
karen.fox@ualberta.ca

  • Mountain leisure and gender

Dr. Elizabeth Halpenny, Assistant Professor, Physical Education and Recreation
elizabeth.halpenny@ualberta.ca

  • Park and protected areas management; nature-based tourism

Howie Harshaw, Assistant Professor, Physical Education and Recreation
harshaw@ualberta.ca

  • Outdoor recreation planning and management outside of parks and protected areas
  • Structural social psychological characteristics of outdoor recreation participation

Dr. Michael Kennedy, Assistant Professor, Physical Education and Recreation
michael.kennedy@ualberta.ca

  • Human performance and competition in extreme environments

Lloyd King, Supervisor, Climbing Wall, Physical Education and Recreation
lloydk@ualberta.ca

  • ACMG Climbing Gym Examiner

Dr. PearlAnn Reichwein, Associate Professor, Physical Education and Recreation
pearlann.reichwein@ualberta.ca

  • Canadian mountain history and cultural studies of people, parks, and politics; conservation, travel, recreation, and sport; mountaineering; gender; Canadian heritage

Dr. Zac Robinson, Assistant Professor, Physical Education and Recreation; VP Activities, The Alpine Club of Canada
zac.robinson@ualberta.ca

  • Alpine history and culture

Dr. Craig Steinback, Assistant Professor, Physical Education and Recreation
craig.steinback@ualberta.ca

  • Physiological and pathophysiological responses to altitude and low oxygen environments

Political Science

Dr. Ian Urquhart, Associate Professor, Political Science; Editor, Wild Lands Advocate, Alberta Wilderness Association
ian.urquhart@ualberta.ca

  • Canadian and comparative natural resources, environmental policies

Psychiatry

Dr. Kathryn Todd, Professor, Psychiatry; Director, Centre for Neuroscience
kgtodd@ualberta.ca

  • Neuroscience, high altitude, and hypoxia/ischemia