Administration & Support Staff

It takes a village to operate a fine arts department. The Department of Music team includes sharp-as-tacks administrators, passionate librarians, dedicated technicians, and communications and marketing experts. Please consult the list below to access one of our talented staff members.

Department Chair

William H. Street
Professor of Winds & Percussion, Chair
wstreet@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.1320

Administration

Barb Baker
Academic Department Manager
barb.baker@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.0606

Barb is responsible for managing the Department of Music’s operating budget, endowments, teaching plans, research and other funds; supervise the administrative staff; overseeing other functions such as communications, fund development, as well as policy development and long-term planning.

Kimberly Arndt
Graduate Advisor
kimberly.arndt@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.0603

Dawn Hunter
Graduate Advisor
lydia.dawn.hunter@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.7866

Contact Kimberly or Dawn for: Graduate student and FGSR inquiries or concerns; graduate admissions, scholarship and research opportunity information; graduate payroll and course timetabling; graduate program completion paperwork; FOIPP Liaison Officer.

Stephen Tchir
Undergraduate Advisor
stchir@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.0602

Caitlin Wells
Undergraduate Advisor
ccwells@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.5712

Contact Stephen or Caitlin for:  Undergraduate student inquiries or concerns; undergraduate scholarship and audition schedules information; open house initiatives; undergraduate course timetabling and course/calendar change information; issues with online grades.

Satoko Nemoto
Executive Assistant/Administrative Assistant
snemoto@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.0601

Helen Baggaley
Executive Assistant/Administrative Assistant
helen.baggaley@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.2271

Contact Satoko or Helen for: Student services such as keys and card access, classroom and practice room bookings; general inquiries, photocopying and printing requisitions; cash/cheque/credit handling and float preparation; choral library rentals and band/choral library orders.

Liz Ludwig
Reseach Coordinator
liz.ludwig@ualberta.ca | (780) 492-2274

Michele Wilanowski
Finance Partner
michele.wilanowski@ualberta.ca | (780) 248-2085

Carl Devost
HR Partner
cldevost@ualberta.ca 

Production and Operations

Russell Baker
Music Production Coordinator
rbaker@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.2247
Contact Russell for: Technical aspects of audio and video recording of recitals, auditions and events; production coordination in Convocation Hall and/or Studio 27; Convocation Hall staffing; technical consultation for digital audio/video recording and production systems, procurement assistance, and technology coaching.

Patrick Strain
Electronics Technician
pstrain@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.2247
Contact Patrick for: Audio and video recording for recitals, auditions, exams, self-study and library archives; audio and video support for Convocation Hall, Studio 27 and FAB classrooms including equipment maintenance; space bookings for non-Music Department users and community groups; recording/editing/duplicating and transferring of audio and visual materials.

Calvin Wong
Piano Technician and Tuner
cjwong1@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.2788

Media and Communications

Erik Einsiedel
Communications Associate
erik.einsiedel@ualberta.ca | (780) 248.2079

Kyle Ireland
Fine Arts Recruitment Coordinator
ireland2@ualberta.ca | (780) 492.8840