Royal Society of Canada Honours

    May 2, 2011

    The following five alumni were recently elected as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada, the highest honour a scholar can achieve in the arts, humanities and sciences:

    Terry Cook, ’69 BA, an adjunct professor at the University of Manitoba, who has shaped and defined the field of archival studies as a distinct academic pursuit;

    Candace Savage, ’71 BA, a creative writer and author of more than two-dozen books;

    Colin A. Chapman, ’81 BSc, ’83 MA, ’87 PhD, a leading Cana­dian figure in tropical ecology and conservation at McGill University;

    Michel Desjardins, ’72 BA, whose University of Montreal team has made ground-breaking discoveries that have been published in prestigious scientific journals; and

    Donald Bruce Dingwell, ’84 PhD, a respected researcher in experimental geosciences at the University of Munich.