Dean's Message and Our Mission

Greta Cummings

Dr. Greta Cummings was appointed Dean of the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Alberta for a five-year term, effective July 1, 2017.

Following 15 years of senior administrative leadership experience in hospital, regional and provincial health services, Dr. Cummings joined the Faculty of Nursing in 2004 and currently holds a Centennial Professorship (2013-2020), one of our university’s highest honours.

During her time at the University of Alberta she has studied, taught, and led large teams implementing strategic initiatives in a wide-range of areas, including leadership, organizational change, models of health care delivery, program planning, interdisciplinary transitions in care delivery, governance, legislation, and workforce trends.

Dr. Cummings is passionate about relational nursing leadership that empowers individuals, teams, and organizations to achieve shared goals. She established the CLEAR Outcomes (Connecting Leadership, Education & Research) Research Program in 2006, which focuses on building and disseminating a body of evidence about approaches to nursing and healthcare leadership that influence differential outcomes for the healthcare workforce, healthcare system and ultimately, for patients (including residents and clients) in the health system.

Her extensive community service contributions include numerous editorial and professional boards. She was the Registrar of the Alberta Association of Registered Nurses (now CARNA) from 1997 to 2000. In addition, she served as President of the International Society of Nurses in Cancer Care (2010-2014) and board member of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (2012-2014), and the CIHR Institute Advisory Board for Research Excellence, Ethics and Policy (2016-2020).

Dr. Cummings’ work has been recognized nationally and internationally through several prestigious research awards including the CNA Order of Merit for Research (2010), the CASN Award of Excellence in Research (2008), and the CARNA award of Excellence (2008). She was named to the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame by the Sigma Theta Tau International Honour Society of Nursing in 2015 and is a fellow of both the American Academy of Nursing and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. In 2014, Thomson Rueters named her Highly Cited Researcher—Social Sciences.