Sarah Lopaschuk Memorial Scholarship

Sarah Lopaschuk Memorial Scholarship

Gary Lopaschuk (right) presents the award on behalf of the family to Rafiaa Valji. Additional 2018-2019 recipients are Bailey Komishke and Peter Anto Johnson.

The Sarah Lopaschuk Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a third or fourth year medical student, a pediatric resident or a pediatric graduate student for travel to a conference, symposia, developing nation medical experience or educational travel activity that relates to pediatrics.

This recipient will be selected by a committee from the Department of Pediatrics.


2019 - 2020: Reshma Sirajee and Austin Ericson
2018 - 2019:
Rafiaa Valji (subspeciality resident), Peter Anto Johnson (medical student) and Bailey Komishke (resident)
2017 - 2018: Cynthia Gunaratnam (resident), Kylie Bernstein (resident) and Maram Kebbe (graduate student)
2016 - 2017: Tara McGrath (resident), Devin Chetan (resident) and Lester Liao (resident)
2015 - 2016: Nassiba Alami Laroussi, Chris Novak (medical student), Alana Chomyn (medical student) and Lexa Fraser (medical student)
2014 - 2015: Chantelle Champagne, Daniela Migliarese Isaac, Mark Assmus (medical student) and Ori Scott (medical student)
2013 - 2014: Marya Cordell, Susan Bobbitt and Jillian Popel
2012 - 2013: Angie Ip, Conrad Tsang and Marissa Tsoi


Family, relatives, friends, and faculty members.





Application/Nomination Procedure

Submit your application online by May 8, 2020 to the Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. For further information, contact


Apply now