Donors and Giving

Our department is committed to Henry Marshall Tory's founding vision of the role and responsibilities of the University in the broader local, national and global communities.

In fulfilling this vision, our current philanthropic priorities are:

  1. The establishment of an endowment to fund the Hurtig Lecture on the Future of Canada. This initiative seeks to build a national platform where academics, students, opinion leaders and community members can debate Canada's role in an ever-more interdependent and complex world. The Hurtig Annual Lecture brings leading thinkers to the University of Alberta to deliver lectures that provoke, educate, and generate a more inclusive understanding of our collective experiences and responsibilities, both as regional voices, and as vital actors on the national and global stage.

  2. The establishment of both undergraduate and graduate scholarships for our students. Donated student scholarships allow students the freedom to concentrate completely on their studies and give real validation to their chosen field.

    Current priorities in this area are:
    1. The Gurston Dacks Graduate Travel Award to be awarded to graduate students in the Department of Political Science to travel to conduct research outside of Edmonton or to travel to give a conference paper;
    2. A bursary in the name of the late Dr Fred Engelmann former Chair of the Department of Political Science.
    3. The Michaëlle Jean Lectureship in Canadian Caribbean and African Diasporic Studies.

Cheques identifying the donor's favoured priority can be made out to the "University of Alberta" and sent to:

Chair, Department of Political Science
10-16HM Tory Building
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T6G 2H4

If you are interested in making a donation, we would be delighted to hear from you. Please contact the Chair's Office at 780 492-3429 or email